0 Items $0.00

Trans Visibility Kids Corner!

Here are some books to illustrate that there are so many ways to be yourself, and this is nothing short of magic!

A lovely picture book that shows how troubling it can be for a Crayon to be expected to do all the things a Red can do, when on the inside they're really Blue.

 

Julian is a Mermaid is one of the great Love Stories of all time between a grandchild and grandmother and accepting each other without shame. This is the follow up, and with the gorgeous illustration and love-centered story, it is able to once again teach us and give us warm, fuzzy feelings on the inside.

 

A sweet, short picure book about a boy and his best friend teddy bear, who struggles with being nervous about who they are on the inside. Such a simple, quietly profound book.

 

 

The illustrations in this book along are worth leafing through! On top of that, the story is about Aidan being very excited about becoming a big brother, and helping his parents as they get ready.

In this heartwarming picture book, a big sister realizes that her little sister, Jackie, doesn't like dresses or fairies-she likes ties and bugs! Will she and her family be able to accept that Jackie identifies more as "Jack"?

Readers will love this sweet story about change and acceptance. This book is published in partnership with GLAAD to accelerate LGBTQ inclusivity and acceptance.

 

Dyson loves pink, sparkly things. Sometimes he wears dresses. Sometimes he wears jeans. He likes to wear his princess tiara, even when climbing trees. He's a Princess Boy.

Inspired by the author's son, and by her own initial struggles to understand, this heartwarming book is a call for tolerance and an end to bullying and judgments. The world is a brighter place when we accept everyone for who they are.

 

The back offers a playful narrative about pronouns, inviting kids to know themselves inside and out, claim the pronouns that express the spirit of who they are and respect that in others. Also included is some discussion for grown-ups on how to hold a supportive space for kids (and for themselves).

 

This book stands on its own, but it also serves as a great reference to expand gender in other books and media. They She He Me also pairs perfect with, The Gender Wheel, a story about Bodies and Gender for every body. Together these books offer a firm foundation of radical gender inclusion for parents, educators and caregivers to share with their kids.

 

For fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary character navigating a binary world.

Red: A Crayon's Story Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062252074
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 3rd, 2015

Julián at the Wedding Cover Image
By Jessica Love, Jessica Love (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536212389
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Candlewick - October 6th, 2020

Introducing Teddy: A gentle story about gender and friendship Cover Image
By Jessica Walton, Dougal MacPherson (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681192109
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 31st, 2016

When Aidan Became a Brother Cover Image
By Kyle Lukoff, Kaylani Juanita (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781620148372
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Lee & Low Books - June 4th, 2019

Jack (Not Jackie) Cover Image
By Erica Silverman, Holly Hatam (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781499807318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: little bee books - October 9th, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
My Princess Boy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442429888
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - December 21st, 2010

They She He Me: Free to Be! Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781945289095
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reflection Press - December 21st, 2017

Ana on the Edge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316458610
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 20th, 2020

The Gender Wheel: a story about bodies and gender for every body Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781945289125
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reflection Press - September 10th, 2018