0 Items $0.00

Kid's Book New Releases

Coming Soon: Beloved Picture Book now a Board Book

Tomorrow I'll Be Brave (Board book)

 

"Tomorrow I'll be all the things I tried to be today:
Adventurous, Strong, Smart, Curious, Creative, Confident, & Brave.
And if I wasn't one of them, I know that it's
OK."

 

Journey through a world filled with positive and beautifully hand-lettered words of widsom, inspiration, and motivation. As this book reminds readers, tomorrow is another day, full of endless opportunities--all you have to do is decide to make the day yours.

 

"Jessica Hische, one of the great designers and typographers, now shows herself equally adept at creating gorgeous and immersive images for young readers. This is a joyous burst of color."--Dave Eggers, author of Her Right Foot

 

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Tomorrow I'll Be Brave Cover Image
By Jessica Hische, Jessica Hische (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524787028
Availability: Coming Soon - AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 15th, 2019

Magical Fantasy Middle Reader to Cure End-of-Summer Blues

Adventure, friendship, and magical realism come together in this heartwarming, whimsical story. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks.

 

Great for late the late Elementary age kids (or really anyone) who need a dose of magic, thrilling adventure, and heartwarming self-acceptance. Like Neil Gaiman's Stardust, a wonderfully fun book about how the only person you need to worry about impressing is yourself.

" This follow-up to The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker carries just as much heart and charm as Matilda Woods's first novel. The characters, story, and illustrations will dazzle readers."

“You can’t lose with text by Matilda Woods and illustrations by Anuska Allepuz. It’s impossible not to love whatever magical thing they create, and The Girl Who Sailed the Stars is no exception. This book was whimsical and imaginative from page one, and I loved discovering new things alongside the curious and bold Oona—the sea cats are also a delightful part of this universe. Pick this one up as soon as you can!”
— Melissa Music, The Story Shop, Monroe, GA

The Girl Who Sailed the Stars Cover Image
By Matilda Woods, Anuska Allepuz (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525515241
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Philomel Books - June 25th, 2019

The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker Cover Image
By Matilda Woods, Anuska Allepuz (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780525515234
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Puffin Books - May 28th, 2019

New Nonfitcion Picture Book for Young Aristis!

Mary Blair's Unique Flair: The Girl Who Became One of the Disney Legends

 

Even as a child, Mary Blair loved color, and all she wanted to do was to make art. But becoming an artist wasn't easy. Her parents worked hard to provide her paper and paints, and Mary worked hard to enter contests and earn a spot at a school for the arts. She even had to work hard to find her place at the Walt Disney Studios. But Walt was easily impressed by Mary. When she joined his trip to South America, Mary had never seen such color. She collected that color and used it in her concept art for Cinderella, Alice in Wonderland, and Peter Pan, and even the It's a Small World attraction at Disneyland.

 

"A smiling, button-eyed Blair is pictured alongside Cinderella's silver carriage, Alice's upside-down mirror, and Wendy's nursery room window—all projects Blair created concept art for. Lee's art also imitates the bold, blocky figures that Blair designed for It's a Small World, her magnum opus, a ride that fosters goodwill and worldwide peace. This wonderful biography not only shows how Blair has influenced Walt Disney Studios, but it also captures her verve for life and bountiful imagination. Share this one with young, aspiring artists, especially those willing to break the rules."(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2019, American Library Association.)

Beautiful and newly modernized Fairy Tale

Tallulah the Tooth Fairy CEO (Hardcover)

 

Hilarious and smart, Tallulah the Tooth Fairy CEO is a modern take on the classic tooth fairy story by Tamara Pizzoli with illustrations by Federico Fabianiis that is perfect for powerful little leaders ready to take on the world—one tooth at a time.

Meet Tallulah. She’s the Tooth Fairy CEO. Tallulah knows practically everything about being a tooth fairy. How to collect teeth. Dispense money. Train other fairies. And it’s all in the Teeth Titans Incorporated Employee Manual.

But when something happens that’s not covered in the manual, what's a fairy to do?

"It’s refreshing to see a woman of color not only represented as a classic fantasy figure, as they are often depicted exclusively as white, but also as a successful businesswoman and entrepreneur . . . Illustrations are smooth and give a sleek modern feel to the piece. A fun, solid addition to contemporary fairy tale collections." –School Library Journal

From Emmy Award-winning actor Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver comes a new out-of-this-world middle-grade series

Alien Superstar by Henry Winkler and & Lin Oliver!

No one is shocked by the six-eyed alien strolling around the Universal back lot. The tourists just think he's part of the show. It doesn't take long for Buddy to land a role on a popular TV show, playing (of course) an alien. He becomes an overnight heartthrob and is suddenly faced with legions of adoring fans, rides in glamorous limos, and appearances at "all-the-shrimp-you-can-eat" red carpet parties. But can Buddy maintain his secret identity while in the spotlight?

Alien Superstar is available for preorder now! 

Find more Heny Winkler titles online or at your local Books Inc.!

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Alien Superstar (Book #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419733697
Availability: Coming Soon - AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER
Published: Amulet Books - October 2019

Bookmarks Are People Too! #1 (Here's Hank #1) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448479972
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Penguin Workshop - February 6th, 2014

New From Sleeping Bear Press

A Boy Like You by Frank Murphy

by FRANK MURPHY

There's more to being a boy than sports, feats of daring, and keeping a stiff upper lip. A Boy Like You encourages every boy to embrace all the things that make him unique, to be brave and ask for help, to tell his own story and listen to the stories of those around him. In an age when boys are expected to fit into a particular mold, this book celebrates all the wonderful ways to be a boy.

A Boy Like You Page Layout #1

Publisher's Weekly - A Boy Like You

Reviewed on 1 July 2019

Excerpt: The story is directed squarely at boys, but Harren’s illustrations show representations of all kinds of kids and families. Being a boy can mean many things, Murphy suggests, but being “a smart boy, a brave boy, a kind boy” are the first important steps toward manhood.

 

A Boy Like You Page Layout 2

Contributors

Author: Frank Murphy

A graduate of Rutgers University, Frank is currently a second grade teacher in the Council Rock School District in Newtown, Pennsylvania. Frank lives in Holland, Pennsylvania, and has two sons, Griffin and Chase.

Illustrator: Kayla Harren

Kayla Harren is the author and illustrator of Mary Had a Little Lizard, and the illustrator of a number of other projects, including Hannah's Tall Order. She lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.

 

A Boy Like You Page Layout 3

Order your copy of A Boy Like You by Frank Murphy & Kayla Herren now! 

Random House Helps Us Celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Moon Landing!

In celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Moon Landing, Random House wants to inspire our kids to LOOK UP! with their new picture book Rocket Says Look Up! by Nathan Bryon.

Look Up! Page Layout

Rocket Says Look Up! By Nathan Bryon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They've also put together a list of other titles focusing on space, space exploration, and the people who dared to dream us there.

Starstruck: The Cosmic Journey of Neil DeGrasse Tyson by Kathleen Krull and Paul Brewer Endurance: Young Reader's Edition by Scott Kelly
Moon: A Peek-Through Picture Book by Britta Teckentrup Space: Planets, Moons, Stars and More!  (Step into Reading) by Joe Rhatigan
My Little Golden Book About the First Moon Landing by Chip Lovitt Lucy and the Rocket Dog by Will Buckingham
Astronaut Handbook by Megahan McCarthy Totally True Adventures: Apollo 13 by Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
Once Upon a Star: A Poetic Journey Through Space by James Carter and Mar Hernandez Margaret and the Moon: How Margaret Hamilton Saved the First Lunar Landing by Dean Robbins

Find all these books at your local Books Inc. or at Booksinc.net now! Telescopes not included. 

Pages