Awards for Literature


Agatha Awards   - The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery." That is to say, books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie as well as others.

Anthony Awards  - The Anthony Awards are literary awards for mystery writers presented at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention since 1986.

Caldecott Medal  - The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children

Edgar Allan Poe Awards   One of the most prestigious awards for mystery writers, the Edgars are named after the patron saint and writer of the first detective story. Winners are presented with a bust of Edgar Allan Poe.

Hugo Awards - The Hugo Awards, given annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugos are voted on by the thousands of members of the current Worldcon which is also responsible for administering them.

Indies Choice Book Awards  The Indies Choice Book Awards reflect the spirit of independent bookstores nationwide through new categories and a broad range of winners and honor books.  

James Beard KitchenAid Book Awards  Deemed “the Oscars of the food world,” by Time magazine, The James Beard Foundation Awards are the country’s most coveted honor for chefs; food and beverage professionals; broadcast media, journalists, and authors working on food; and restaurant architects and designers.

Lambda Literary Awards   - The first Lambda Literary Awards were presented at a black-tie gala ceremony in 1989. Every year since then they have been awarded to the finest lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans literature available in the United States.

Man Booker Prize - The prize, which celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2008, aims to reward the best novel of the year written in the English language and published in the UK.

National Book Awards  - Over a half-century since its inception, the National Book Awards continues to recognize the best of American literature, raising the cultural appreciation of great writing in the country while advancing the careers of both established and emerging writers.

National Book Critics Circle Award - The National Book Critics Circle Award is an annual award given by the National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) to promote the finest books and reviews published in English.

Nebula Awards - The Nebula Awards® are annual awards presented by Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America to celebrate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing.

Newbery Medal - The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Nobel Prize in Literature - The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 103 times to 107 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2010.

Northern California Book Awards -  The NCBA celebrates books by northern California authors.

PEN/Faulkner Award - The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year.

Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award - The PEN/Hemingway Foundation Award is given for a novel or book of short stories by an American author who has not previously published a book of fiction. 

Pulitzer Prize  - The Pulitzer Prizes are annual awards for achievements in American creativity in a wide array of fields.

Triangle Awards  - Since 1989, the Triangle Awards have honored the best in literature for gays and lesbians. The awards are sponsored by the Publishing Triangle, a national association of lesbians and gay men in the publishing industry.

World Fantasy Awards - The World Fantasy Award for Best Novel is given each year for fantasy novels published in English or translated into English. A work of fiction is defined by the organization as a novel if it is 40,000 words or longer; awards are also given out for pieces of shorter lengths in the short story and novella categories.