23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism (eBook)

List Price: $12.99
Our Price: $11.43
(Save: $1.56 12%)
Available Now

Description


  • Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
  • Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
  • Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
  • Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.
  • If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.
    Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

    About the Author


    Ha-Joon Chang teaches in the Faculty of Economics at Cambridge University. His books include the international bestseller Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism and Kicking Away the Ladder, winner of the 2003 Myrdal Prize. In 2005, Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought.

    Product Details ISBN-13: 9781608193585
    Published: Bloomsbury Press, 01/02/2011
    Language: en