San Francisco Events

Launch Party with CHRISTOPHER MOORE at Books Inc. Opera Plaza!

The endlessly funny and talented, New York Times-bestselling author Christopher Moore joins us for a Launch Party in celebration of the much-anticipated sequel to A Dirty Job with Secondhand Souls! When the souls of the dead are being left behind all over the City by the Bay, a motley crew of heroes—including the Emperor of San Francisco, and seven-foot-tall death merchant Minty Fresh—band together to get to the bottom of things.

 

 

$26.99
ISBN: 9780061779787
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - August 25th, 2015

NYMBC Launch Party with ALEXANDRA SIROWY at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Join Not Your Mother's Book Club™ for a Launch Party in celebration of local author Alexandra Sirowy's fantastic debut, The Creeping. Perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Alexandra’s debut masterfully blends romance, friendship, and dark bone-chilling fear, and is a can’t-miss summertime thriller!

$17.99
ISBN: 9781481418867
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2015

Writeous Writing Group at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Looking for feedback on your kid’s book manuscript? Bring your work-in-progress to this hands-on critique group moderated by a professional children’s book editor with nearly 20 years of experience. You will be amazed at how much you learn yourself by critiquing another writer’s work. Pre-register and learn more at http://www.booksinc.net/childrens_book_writing_group

Summer Dawn Laurie set her sights on the world of children’s book publishing in 1997 and has never looked back. She started down this path at Chronicle Books for Children, working in both the marketing and editorial departments. In 2000 she crossed the bay to join Tricycle Press, the children's imprint of Ten Speed Press in Berkeley, California. As Senior Editor, Summer worked on over 50 published books across varied genres—picturebooks, board books, novels, activity books, fiction and non-fiction for young people up to age 12. After seven years she took yet another fork in the road and is now an independent editor, working to strengthen each word her clients write and helping guide them through the often labyrinthine route to publication. Summer is also a children’s specialist at independent bookseller Books Inc. where she has started the Wild Girls Mother-Daughter Book Club for girls aged 9-12 years old and their moms. And just for fun, Summer produces the children’s and teen programming for the annual Litquake literary festival and sits on the board of the NCIBA where she chairs the Northern California Children's Booksellers' Alliance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DULCE CANDY RUIZ at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Named among Latina magazine's 2013 "Latinas of the Year," fashion icon and the creator of the beauty and fashion channel Dulce Candy on YouTube and the lifestyle blog DulceCandy.com, Dulce Candy Ruiz shares her inspiring and empowering book, The Sweet Life: Find Passion, Embrace Fear, and Create Success on Your Own Terms.

$22.95
ISBN: 9781592409501
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Avery Publishing Group - August 4th, 2015

SCOTT WILBANKS at Books Inc. in The Castro

Scott Wilbanks shares his delightful debut novel, The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster. A brilliant work of literary fiction, The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster masterfully blends magical realism, mystery, and romance into an unforgettable story which wistfully crisscrosses between modern day San Francisco and 1890s rural Kansas.

Join us before Scott's reading from 6pm to 7pm for a cocktail hour featuring wine and snacks hosted by author Scott Wilbanks!

 

$14.99
ISBN: 9781492612469
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - August 4th, 2015

PHIL COUSINEAU at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Writer, teacher, editor, documentary filmmaker, travel leader and bestselling author Phil Cousineau discusses his latest collection of travel essays, The Book of Roads: Travel Stories from Michigan to Marrakech.

By Phil Cousineau, Larry Habegger (Foreword by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781632280190
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viva Editions - August 11th, 2015

GALLAGHER LAWSON at Books Inc. in The Castro

Pianist, travel writer, and fiction writer Gallagher Lawson shares his stunning debut novel, The Paper Man. Michael was only 15 when a mysterious accident changed his life forever. He was rebuilt out of paper by his father, and ten years later he is still trapped in the paper version of his teenage body. To escape his stagnant life at home, he runs away to the city by the sea, which promises art and adventure.

$16.00
ISBN: 9781939419224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - May 19th, 2015

DELFIN VIGIL & ERIKA KROUSE In Conversation at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Opera Plaza presents an evening of conversation with two authors whose fictional works examine the gritty sides of city life. Local author, former San Francisco Chronicle reporter, and current host of Lemme Ask You A Question on Radio Valencia, Delfin Vigil discusses his latest literary release Death of a Newspaperman.

By Delfin Vigil, Scott Bradley (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781942600077
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Rare Bird Books - October 13th, 2015

$15.95
ISBN: 9781940207636
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rare Bird Books - March 31st, 2015

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - San Francisco Events