Jade Lady Burning (Paperback)

Jade Lady Burning Cover Image
Available - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of May 5 12:54am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village
5 on hand, as of May 5 12:55am


Meet Sergeants George Sueno and Ernie Bascom in their first investigation, set in 1970s South Korea
Almost twenty years after the end of the Korean War, the US Military is still present throughout South Korea, and tensions run high. Koreans look for any opportunity to hate the soldiers who drink at their bars and carouse with their women. When Pak Ok-suk, a young Korean woman, is found brutally murdered in a torched apartment in the Itaewon red-light district of Seoul, it looks like it might be the work of her American soldier boyfriend. Sergeants George Sueno and Ernie Bascom, Military Police for the US 8th Army, are assigned to the case, but they have nothing to go on other than a tenuous connection to an infamous prostitute. As repressed resentments erupt around them, the pair sets out on an increasingly dangerous quest to find evidence that will exonerate their countryman.

About the Author

Martin Limon retired from military service after twenty years in the US Army, including ten years in Korea. He is the author of the Sergeants Sueno and Bascom series, which includes "Jade Lady Burning", "Slicky Boys", "Buddha s Money", "The Door to Bitterness", "The Wandering Ghost", "GI Bones", "Mr. Kill", and "The Joy Brigade". He lives near Seattle.

Praise For…

Praise for the Sergeant George Sueño series:

"Remarkable ... compassionately written, searing in its intensity."—The New York Times Book Review

"Superb."—Molly Ivins, Seattle Times

"[W]hat a great gift any of Limon's six mysteries starring Army Sgts. George Sueno and Ernie Bascom would make for those mystery lovers who haven't yet discovered them! ... Imbued with affecting characters, a morally knotty storyline, and a last chapter that just plain stuns."—Maureen Corrigan

Product Details
ISBN: 9781616950903
ISBN-10: 1616950900
Publisher: Soho Crime
Publication Date: October 4th, 2011
Pages: 254
Language: English