0 Items $0.00

The Antiques (Hardcover)

The Antiques Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
2 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
3 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:05am

Description


An irresistible, incisive, fast-paced comedic drama about a family who reunites after the death of its patriarch, just as a hurricane tears through town. For fans of Jonathan Tropper, Emma Straub, and Karen Joy Fowler.
On the night of a massive hurricane, three estranged siblings learn that their father is dying. For the first time in years, they convene at their childhood home in Upstate New York, where the storm has downed power lines, flooded houses, and destroyed the family's antique store.
The Westfalls are no strangers to dysfunction. But never have their lives felt so out of control. Armie is living in their parents basement. In Manhattan, Josef, a sex-addicted techie, is struggling to repair his broken relationship with his daughters. Their sister, Charlie, who works in Hollywood as a publicist for a wayward young actress, just learned that her son has been expelled from preschool. Amid the storm, they come together to plan their father's memorial service, only to learn his dying wish they must sell his priceless Magritte painting. As their failures are laid bare, they discover that hope often lurks in the darkest of places. And so, too, can hilarity.
Complete with an irresistible plot and deeply flawed, affectionately rendered characters, Kris D Agostino's breakout novel charts the unexpected epiphanies that emerge in chaos. A rollicking tableau of life in all its messy complexity, The Antiques is a heartbreaking, nimble, laugh-out-loud funny send-up of modern family life.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501138973
ISBN-10: 1501138979
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Publication Date: January 10th, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English