Revenge: Eleven Dark Tales (Compact Disc)

Revenge: Eleven Dark Tales Cover Image
By Yoko Ogawa, Johanna Parker (Read by), Kaleo Griffith (Read by)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


An aspiring writer moves into a new apartment and discovers that her landlady has murdered her husband. Elsewhere, an accomplished surgeon is approached by a cabaret singer, whose beautiful appearance belies the grotesque condition of her heart. And while the surgeon's jealous lover vows to kill him, a violent envy also stirs in the soul of a lonely craftsman. Desire meets with impulse and erupts, attracting the attention of the surgeon's neighbor-who is drawn to a decaying residence that is now home to instruments of human torture. Murderers and mourners, mothers and children, lovers and innocent bystanders-their fates converge in an ominous and darkly beautiful web. Yoko Ogawa's Revenge is a master class in the macabre that will haunt you to the very end.

About the Author

Yoko Ogawa is the author of "The Diving Pool, " "The Housekeeper and the Professor", and "Hotel Iris". Her fiction has appeared in "The New Yorker, A Public Space", and "Zoetrope". Since 1988 she has published more than twenty works of fiction and nonfiction, and has won every major Japanese literary award. Her novel "The Housekeeper and the Professor" has been adapted into a film, The Professor s Beloved Equation. She lives in Ashiya, Japan, with her husband and son.

Johanna Parker, an AudioFile Earphones Award winner, has earned an esteemed Audie Award and three Audie nominations. She has received high praise for her work in all genres, including her portrayal of Sookie Stackhouse in Charlaine Harris's Southern Vampire Mysteries series.

Kaleo Griffith is an actor and audiobook narrator. He has appeared in such television series as Law & Order and Reggie's Family & Friends. Among his narrations are Superstorm Sandy by William Westhoven, The Dead of Winter by Lee Collins, and Faery Tales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr.

Praise For…

"Although the stories may be perceived as gruesome, the author paints each tale exquisitely. Well-written." ---Kirkus

Product Details
ISBN: 9781452612904
ISBN-10: 1452612900
Publisher: Tantor Media Inc
Publication Date: April 8th, 2013
Language: English