0 Items $0.00

Aftercare Instructions (Hardcover)

Aftercare Instructions Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
2 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:05am

Description


In the tradition of Rainbow Rowell and Jandy Nelson, a powerful, big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope

Troubled. That's seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.

As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long forgotten dream. But it's when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she's finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.

Aftercare Instructions, an electric, format-crushing debut, full of heart and hope, follows Gen on a big-hearted journey from dorm rooms to diners to underground theaters and ultimately, right into readers' hearts.

About the Author


Bonnie Pipkin believes in prose, performances, puppet shows, and public displays of affection. Originally from California, Bonnie now lives in Brooklyn. She has an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts, teaches literature courses at Kean University, officiates weddings, and looks after a very cute cat. Aftercare Instructions is Bonnie's first novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250114846
ISBN-10: 1250114845
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English