PLEASE NOTE
Books must show On Our Shelves Now for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

Bred in the Bone (Hardcover)

$24.00
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza
1 on hand, as of Nov 19 11:52pm
(NEW HARDBACK FICTION)

Description


"Bred in the Bone" is the stunning third novel in Brookmyre's series featuring private investigator Jasmine Sharp and Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod. Set in the disturbing underworld of Glasgow--a place where countless old scores are still waiting to be settled, and where everyone knows everyone else--"Bred in the Bone" is a masterful mystery novel that will appeal to readers of Denise Mina, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin.
Private investigator Jasmine Sharp's father was murdered before she was born, and her mother went to self-sacrificing lengths in order to shield her from the world in which he moved. Since her mother's death, all she has been able to learn is his first name--and that only through a strange bond she has forged with the man who killed him: Glen Fallan. But when Fallan is arrested for the murder of a criminal her mother knew since childhood, Jasmine is finally forced to enter his domain: a place where violence is a way of life and vengeance spans generations.
Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod has one major Glaswegian gangster in the mortuary and another in the cells for killing him - which ought to be cause for celebration. Catherine is not smiling, however. From the moment she discovered a symbol daubed on the victim's head, she has understood that this case is far more dangerous than it appears on the surface, something that could threaten her family and end her career.
As one battles her demons and the other chases her ghosts, these two very different detectives will ultimately confront the secrets that have entangled both of their fates since before Jasmine was even born.

About the Author


Brookmyre has worked as a journalist in London and Edinburgh.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780802122476
ISBN-10: 0802122477
Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press
Publication Date: May 6th, 2014
Pages: 407
Language: English