0 Items $0.00

The False Prince (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The False Prince Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

Four orphan boys are chosen by nobleman Bevin Conner to
compete for the chance to impersonate Prince Jaron, missing and presumed
dead for four years. It quickly becomes clear that whichever boy is
chosen, the other three will not survive to give away the secret of the
false prince. Sage, an unusually clever orphan boy with quite a talent
for thievery, takes issue with this plan and decides that he will not
allow Conner to get away with murdering three boys. He soon learns that
Conner is responsible for far worse deeds than his plot to install the
false prince on the throne of Carthya. Luckily, Sage has plenty of
secrets of his own, and it will take all his ingenuity and the help of
his competitors to thwart Conner's plan and expose his treachery

— Adrien, Compass books


"The False Prince" is the thrilling first book in a brand-new trilogy filled with danger and deceit and hidden identities that will have readers rushing breathlessly to the end.
In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner's motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword's point -- he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage's rivals have their own agendas as well.
As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner's sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.
An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

About the Author

Jennifer A. Nielsen is the acclaimed author of "The False Prince," the first book in the Ascendance Trilogy. She has also written The Underworld Chronicles, a humorous middle-grade fantasy series. Jen lives in northern Utah with her husband, their three children, and a perpetually muddy dog.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545284134
ISBN-10: 0545284139
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: April 2012
Pages: 342
Language: English
Series: Ascendance Trilogy