Anna of Byzantium (Mass Market Paperbound)

Anna of Byzantium Cover Image
$6.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.
Anna Comnena has every reason to feel entitled. She's a princess, her father's firstborn and his chosen successor. Someday she expects to sit on the throne and rule the vast Byzantine Empire. So the birth of a baby brother doesn't perturb her. Nor do the "barbarians" from foreign lands, who think only a son should ascend to power. Anna is as dismissive of them as are her father and his most trusted adviser--his mother, a manipulative woman with whom Anna studies the art of diplomacy. Anna relishes her lessons, proving adept at checkmating opponents in swift moves of mental chess. But as she matures into a young woman, her arrogance and intelligence threaten her grandmother. Anna will be no one's puppet. Almost overnight, Anna sees her dreams of power wrenched from her and bestowed on her little brother. Bitter at the betrayal, Anna waits to avenge herself, and to seize what is rightfully hers.
Praise for "Anna of Byzantium"
A "Bulletin" Blue Ribbon Book
An ALA Quick Pick
An ALA Best Book for Young Adults
A "Booklist" Editor's Choice
A "Booklist" Top Ten Historical Fiction Pick
STAR] " "Anna of Byzantium"] involves readers in a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries worthy of a place among the tragic myths." "The Bulletin," Starred review
"In the tradition of E. L. Konigsburg's "A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver" and Karen Cushman's "Catherine, Called Birdy" comes this story of a real-life historical figure, Anna Commena, groomed to be the sovereign of the Byzantine empire Barrett uses an effective first-person narrative to draw readers into Anna's story, and the author's precise use of detail helps re-create Anna's world, the palace of Constantinople in the ninth century. . . Readers will be caught up in this exciting read." "Booklist," Boxed review
"A fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue."-"The Horn Book Magazine
" "Barrett does a remarkable job of painting moods and emotions with spare, elegant sentences. . . This splendid novel about a neglected period of history is the perfect choice. . . Hard to imagine it being any better written." "VOYA"
"This wonderfully engaging novel both entertains and serves as a lively history lesson with its well-researched background, dramatic plot and dimensional characters. Barrett's descriptive, engaging prose will draw readers into a fascinating historical time, filled with political intrigue and a complex, admirable teen protagonist who faces her changing future with an inspiring combination of heart and mind." "Wichita Eagle.

About the Author


Tracy Barrett is the author of numerous books and magazine articles for young readers. She holds a Bachelor's Degree with honors in Classics-Archaeology from Brown University and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Medieval Italian Literature from the University of California, Berkeley. Her scholarly interests in the ancient and medieval worlds overlap in her fiction and nonfiction works.

A grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to study medieval women writers led to the writing of her first novel, the award-winning "Anna of Byzantium." Since then, she has also written "The Stepsister's Tale," "Dark of the Moon," "King of Ithaka," and The Sherlock Files series."

Praise For…


"Set in an exotic time and place, [this story] is a fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue."--The Horn Book Magazine

"The Byzantine Empire is often neglected in studies of the Middle Ages. This exciting read will help change that oversight."-Booklist, Boxed Review

"Although separated from contemporary readers by foreign custom, social rank, and almost a millennium of Western history, Barrett's protagonist nonetheless commands YA empathy."--The Bulletin, Recommended

Product Details
ISBN: 9780440415367
ISBN-10: 0440415365
Publisher: Laurel Leaf Library
Publication Date: October 10th, 2000
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Laurel-Leaf Books