0 Items $0.00

I Got a New Friend (Hardcover)

I Got a New Friend Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Jun 28 1:05am

Description


A sweet introduction to owning a pet that is perfect for readers of The Most Magnificent Thing and A Ball for Daisy.

When a little girl gets a new puppy, they have a lot to learn about each other. The new friends can be shy, messy, and sometimes get into trouble. They get lost, but they always get found. Their friendship may be a lot of work--but at the end of the day, they love each other

Experience the excitement and mystery surrounding a new pet (and a new friend) in this joyful picture book from acclaimed author and illustrator Karl Newsom Edwards.

"Cheerfully ingenuous...Totally, infectiously ebullient."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

"A joyous look at the work and play that go into pet ownership and friendship."--Booklist

"The concise, cheery text gently explains what to expect when a newcomer joins the household, and] the illustrations are cartoonlike and sweet. The curly-haired, brown-skinned little girl and the large-eared, spotted puppy make an adorable pair as they learn what it means to gain a new companion."--School Library Journal

About the Author


Karl Newsom Edwards began working as an illustrator in 1976 and has published several books for children. Kirkus Reviews said of Fly!, his first book for Alfred A. Knopf, "In fewer than twenty words, Edwards pieces together a story of grand willpower and discovery." He lives in Portland, Oregon. Learn more about Karl and his work at karlnewsomedwards.com or on Twitter at @KarlEdwardsArt.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399557002
ISBN-10: 0399557008
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2017
Pages: 32
Language: English