PLEASE NOTE
Books must show On Our Shelves Now for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

Freakboy (Hardcover)

$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of Oct 30 1:32am
(CHILDRENS-YOUNG ADULT)
Books Inc. in the Marina
2 on hand, as of Oct 30 1:29am
(CHILDRENS-YOUNG ADULT)
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Oct 30 1:26am
(CHILDRENS-YOUNG ADULT)
Books Inc. in the Castro
1 on hand, as of Oct 29 11:53pm
(CHILDRENS-YOUNG ADULT)
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza
1 on hand, as of Oct 29 11:52pm
(CHILDRENS-YOUNG ADULT)

Staff Reviews


I have to say, Freakboy is one of the most touching and thought-provoking books about LGBT issues I’ve ever read. Brendan Chase is a star wrestler, part of the popular crowd, has a beautiful girlfriend, and loves playing video games. But Brendan has a secret: Brendan aches to have pouty lips, luxuriously long hair, slender fingers, and a tiny waist. Brendan wishes he were a girl. But he doesn’t understand these feelings, because he also loves his girlfriend. Freakboy discusses the idea of gender fluidity – always feeling like a mix of male and female, moving in and out of the two, some days feeling more male, and feeling more female on others. Written from the perspectives of Brendan, Brendan’s girlfriend, and Angel – a transgender girl who becomes Brendan’s confidante and support system – Freakboy is startlingly honest and brilliantly written. This is the perfect novel for fans of John Green, Ellen Hopkins, and David Levithan.

— Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Description


From the outside, Brendan Chase seems to have it pretty easy. He’s a star wrestler, a video game aficionado, and a loving boyfriend to his seemingly perfect match, Vanessa. But on the inside, Brendan struggles to understand why his body feels so wrong—why he sometimes fantasizes having long hair, soft skin, and gentle curves. Is there even a name for guys like him? Guys who sometimes want to be girls? Or is Brendan just a freak?

In Freakboy's razor-sharp verse, Kristin Clark folds three narratives into one powerful story: Brendan trying to understand his sexual identity, Vanessa fighting to keep her and Brendan’s relationship alive, and Angel struggling to confront her demons.

Praise For…


"...a gripping story about a complex topic..."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

*"This gutsy, tripartite poem explores a wider variety of identities—cis-, trans-, genderqueer—than a simple transgender storyline, making it stand out." -- Kirkus Review, starred review

"It succeeds in conveying the message that "you are not alone" to transgender youth while helping everyone else get a handle on these often-tortured teens. The author succeeds in her mission to foster "greater understanding and acceptance of gender’s vast and lovely variation."" -- School Library Journal

"A sincere, profound rendering of sexuality, queerness, and identity." - The Horn Book

Product Details
ISBN: 9780374324728
ISBN-10: 0374324727
Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux
Publication Date: October 22nd, 2013
Pages: 448
Language: English