Revolver (Paperback)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


A LOADED GUN. STOLEN GOLD. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.

In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig's father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig's only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin's storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why?

"Revolver" is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

About the Author

Marcus Sedgwick is the author of "White Crow" and "Revolver", which was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal in the UK and was named a Printz Honor book in the US. The author of eleven widely admired previous novels, he lives near Cambridge, England.

Praise For…

“A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.”—The Horn Book, Starred Review
 “Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review “A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig’s difficult decisions.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review “The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.”—School Library Journal, Starred Review “A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.”—Booklist “An elegant, brilliantly executed tale. . . . This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length.”—The Times (London)
“A gripping thriller.”—The Guardian

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312547974
ISBN-10: 0312547978
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: September 27th, 2011
Pages: 204
Language: English