Water Ghosts (Paperback)

PLEASE NOTE
Books must show: IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A mesmerizing debut novel that weaves history and mythology around a community of Chinese immigrants and the ghosts that haunt them
Locke, California, 1928. Three bedraggled Chinese women appear out of the mist in a small Chinese farming town on the Sacramento River. Two are unknown to its residents, while the third is the long-lost wife of Richard Fong, the handsome manager of the local gambling parlor. As the lives of the townspeople become inextricably intertwined with the newly arrived women, their frightening power is finally revealed.
A lyrical imagining of what happens when a Chinese ghost story comes true, "Water Ghosts" is a rich tale of human passions and mingling cultures that will appeal to readers of Lisa See, Anchin Min, and Gail Tsukiyama.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143117278
ISBN-10: 0143117270
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: July 27th, 2010
Pages: 259
Language: English