PLEASE NOTE
Books must show On Our Shelves Now for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)

$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Apr 24 3:00am (CHILDRENS-MIDDLE READERS)
Books Inc. in Laurel Village
1 on hand, as of Apr 24 3:04am (CHILDRENS-MIDDLE READERS)

Description


A forgotten door on an abandoned railway platform is the entrance to a magical kingdom--an island where humans live happily with mermaids, ogres, and other wonderful creatures. Carefully hidden from the world, the Island is only accessible when the door opens for nine days every nine years. When the beastly Mrs. Trottle kidnaps the Island's young prince, it's up to a strange band of rescuers to save him. But can the rescuers--an ogre, a hag, a wizard, and a fey--sneak around London unnoticed? Fans of Roald Dahl, Lewis Carroll, and E. Nesbit will delight in this comic fantasy.

About the Author


Eva Ibbotson, born Maria Charlotte Michelle Wiesner (21 January 1925 ��� 20 October 2010), was an Austrian-born British novelist, known for her children's books. Some of her novels for adults have been successfully reissued for the young adult market in recent years. For the historical novel Journey to the River Sea (Macmillan, 2001), she won the Smarties Prize in category 9���11 years, garnered unusual commendation as runner up for the Guardian Prize, and made the Carnegie, Whitbread, and Blue Peter shortlists. She was a finalist for the 2010 Guardian Prize at the time of her death. Her last book, The Abominables, was one of eight books on the longlist for the same award in 2012.

���

Product Details ISBN-10: 0141302860
ISBN-13: 9780141302867
Published: Puffin, 10/25/1999
Pages: 240
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 9
Maximum Age: 12
Minimum Grade Level: 4th Grade
Maximum Grade Level: 7th Grade