The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling (Paperback)

By Maryrose Wood, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
In Stock -Select for Store Locations
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:27am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza
2 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:24am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
2 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:25am
Books Inc. in the Castro
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:28am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village
1 on hand, as of Nov 28 11:39pm
Compass Books-Terminal 3
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:29am
Books Inc. in the Marina
2 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:30am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:32am

Staff Reviews

I know that this one has been out for awhile, but I finally
picked it up off the shelf and I’m so glad I did! Did you know Jon Klassen
illustrated it? Because he did and it’s adorable and I love it. If you’re
unfamiliar with these books, they’re about three children who are mysteriously
found in the woods by a wealthy (and very proper) couple. The children, having
been raised by wolves, are unmanageable and incorrigible and therefore require
the help of a governess. Thankfully, Miss Penelope Lumley knows just how to
whip these children into shape. This is a touching story about friendship and
compassion. Also, it’s quite funny!

— Anna, Books Inc. Palo Alto


The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart has a brand-new look.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

About the Author

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.

Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the Caldecott Award-winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; The Dark by Lemony Snicket; House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser; Cats' Night Out by Caroline Stutson; and the first three books in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062366931
ISBN-10: 0062366939
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: April 21st, 2015
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place