Order Deadline for Guaranteed Christmas Eve Delivery
December 17 for Regular UPS Shipping
December 21 for 2 Day Shipping
December 23 for In-Store Pick-Up (In-Stock Items Only)

PLEASE NOTE
Books must show On Our Shelves Now for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

How to Be Black (Paperback)

$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Berkeley
2 on hand, as of Dec 21 12:21am
(HUMOR)
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza
2 on hand, as of Dec 21 12:20am
(HUMOR)

Description


Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?Have you ever heard of black people?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has more than over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be the Black Friend" to "How to Be the (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month.

About the Author


Baratunde Thurston is the director of digital at The Onion, the cofounder of Jack & Jill Politics, a stand-up comedian, and a globe-trotting speaker. He was named one of the 100 most influential African-Americans of 2011 by The Root and one of the 100 most creative people in business by Fast Company magazine. Baratunde resides in Brooklyn and lives on Twitter (@baratunde).

Praise For…


“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.”
-Fast Company

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.”
-Booklist

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black.
-The Root

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.”
-Christian Lander (via Twitter)

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062003225
ISBN-10: 0062003224
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: December 4th, 2012
Pages: 254
Language: English