PLEASE NOTE
Books must show On Our Shelves Now for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

Never Tell (Paperback)

$14.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Detective Ellie Hatcher will be forced to uncover the truth behind the apparent suicide of a teenaged girl with intriguing connections to both New Yorks wealthiestand its most dispossessed. This addictive thriller from acclaimed suspense writer Alafair Burke draws its details from the authors own experiences as a criminal law professor and deputy district attorney, creating an exhilarating, true-to-life tale of crime and its consequences that is perfect for fans of Laura Lippman, Harlan Coben, and Burkes breakout standalone thriller Long Gone.

Alafair Burke is one of the finest young crime writers working today. Dennis Lehane

About the Author


A former deputy district attorney in Portland, Oregon, Alafair Burke now teaches criminal law at Hofstra Law School and lives in New York City. She is the daughter of the acclaimed crime writer James Lee Burke. Her three novels in the Samantha Kincaid series, Judgment Calls, Missing Justice, and Close Case are available in paperback from St. Martin's Press. Dead Connection is her first stand-alone thriller.

Praise For…


“[Burke] has delivered another winner….Two seemingly different storylines converge in a shocking way, demonstrating Burke’s remarkable abilities as a writer….Hatcher is a complex character, and her journey both personally and professionally will have even the most jaded suspense aficionado rapidly turning the pages.”
-Jeff Ayers, Associated Press

“Burke has a good eye for the many faces of New York….Burke’s story is complex, but her pace is fast, her prose is crisp and her duplicitous characters ring true in the Darwinian world she creates.”
-Patrick Anderson, Washington Post

“Burke’s last book was a stand-alone, but in Never Tell she’s returned to the character her readers know best, the fierce and gutsy NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher - now investigating the apparent suicide of a privileged Manhattan teen.”
-Entertainment Weekly

“The meticulous plotting, coupled with Ellie’s complicated evolution as a heroine, make this Burke’s strongest work to date.”
-Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Once in a while, a book comes along and makes you sit up and notice. A supremely intelligent novel, masterfully created with a telling hand and unique voice, Never Tell is one of those books. Crime writing doesn’t get much better than this.”
-New York Journal of Books

Never Tell is perhaps Burke’s most ambitious and complex novel to date, yet it’s also her most readable….will leave the reader thinking about this book long after the last page as been turned.”
-Joe Hartlaub, Bookreporter.com

“One of Burke’s trademarks is connecting disparate plotlines, which she does here in spades….Skillfully structured…”
-Michele Leber, Booklist

“What initially appears to be a simple story quickly becomes more intricate and compelling, making the pages fly. Highly recommended, especially for Lisa Gardner or Laura Lippman fans.”
-Stacy Alesi, Library Journal

“In Ellie, Burke has built a likable, flawed heroine….her plotting rarely disappoints. A smooth, compelling read that is proof positive that Burke continues to mature as a writer; this entry in the Ellie Hatcher series sings.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Author Alafair Burke takes her mystery fans on another wild ride in Never Tell.”
-The Sun Newspaper

Never Tell is a great read. Alafair Burke writes a riveting story with a strong female protagonist.”
-Suspense Magazine

“Burke’s writing is brisk and sharp, and her glimpse into the world of Manhattan’s super-rich teenaged elite makes for a diverting read.”
-Portland Mercury

“In Never Tell, Alafair Burke keeps a tight hold on each of the many strings of a very complicated plot while also expanding the character of her protagonist, Ellie Hatcher.”
-The Examiner

“Burke’s sharp portrayal of characters, both recurring and otherwise, defies stereotype and predictability….Never Tell is perhaps Burke’s most ambitious and complex novel to date, yet it’s also her most readable….will leave the reader thinking about this book long after the last page as been turned.”
-Joe Hartlaub, Bookreporter.com

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061999178
ISBN-10: 0061999172
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 14th, 2013
Pages: 365
Language: English