PLEASE NOTE
Books must show On Our Shelves Now for same day pick-up in stores.
We recommend calling stores that show low stock numbers.

The Art of Racing in the Rain (Paperback)

$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:20am
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in Burlingame
2 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:19am
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in the Marina
6 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:18am
(FICTION)
Compass Books-Terminal 3
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:17am
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in Laurel Village
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:16am
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:15am
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:14am
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in the Castro
3 on hand, as of Oct 21 11:55pm
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza
3 on hand, as of Oct 21 11:53pm
(FICTION)
Books Inc. in Alameda
2 on hand, as of Oct 21 11:35pm
(FICTION)
Compass Books-Terminal 2
1 on hand, as of Oct 21 11:54pm
(FICTION)

October 2008 Indie Next List


“Sometimes, if you are very lucky, fate gives you a special friend. Denny's friend Enzo will stand by him through some of the best and worst times of his life, his faith in Denny bone deep. Enzo is a dog, a dog with a very old soul. Denny is a race driver with natural talent, but sometimes life gets in the way of natural talent, and the road can have sharp bends. Suffused with humor, love, pain, and valor, this should be one of the year's best books!”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, OR

April 2009 Indie Next List


“Sometimes, if you are very lucky, fate gives you a special friend. Denny's friend Enzo will stand by him through some of the best and worst times of his life, his faith in Denny bone deep. Enzo is a dog, a dog with a very old soul. Denny is a race driver with natural talent, but sometimes life gets in the way of natural talent, and the road can have sharp bends. Suffused with humor, love, pain, and valor, this should be one of the year's best books!”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, OR

September 2009 Indie Next List


“That this protagonist is an Airedale-Lab mix does not detract from his wisdom, depth of spirit, or, well ... humanity. Enzo is there for Denny as he strives for success as a race car driver, and as more poignant turns of fate befall him.”
— Cheryl McKeon, Third Place Books, Lake Forest Park, WA

Description


A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hopea captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

About the Author


Garth Stein is the author of three novels, including the New York Times bestseller The Art of Racing in the Rain and How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, and a play, Brother Jones. He has worked as a documentary filmmaker, and he lives in Seattle with his family.

Praise For…


“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.”
-Entertainment Weekly

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.”
-Jodi Picoult

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.”
-Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”
-Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True

“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s ‘Jonathan Livingston Seagull,’ Paulo Coelho’s ‘The Alchemist,’ and Yann Martel’s ‘Life of Pi.’”
-Portland Oregonian

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061537967
ISBN-10: 0061537969
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 9th, 2009
Pages: 336
Language: English