Kel Gilligan's Daredevil Stunt Show by Michael Buckley (Ilus Dan Santat)

This thrilling new picture book is not only gut-bustingly hilarious, but could be used as a tool for kids to not be afraid of things such as potty-training or the dark. This book not only had the kids intrigued, but the parent's laughing! This story makes a fantastic read-aloud! Getting dramatic while reading this book aloud is what makes it a new favorite storytime read of mine!
-Reviewed by Courtney from Books Inc. Burlingame.
You can catch Courtney's storytime EVERY SUNDAY at 11am!

Kids Classic I Forgot to Read: Mary Poppins!

Here at Books Inc. on Chestnut, the proper, prim, unexplaining, and unexplainable nanny, Mary Poppins is back on the scene. Mary Poppins is one tough old bird, and those raised on Julie Andrews’ “spoonful of sugar” portrayal in the movie will find the original book more like a brisk swig of vinegar.  P.L Traver’s book is one to read aloud and it stands the test of listeners of many minds. Everybody believes in Mary Poppins - Michael and Jane Banks, the twin babies, and the Starling, Mr. and Mrs. Banks, Bert the Matchman who is also a pavement artist, and even the jolly uncle who sits on air! Fantastic without whimsy or sweetness, and human without dwelling on the obvious, I predict that long after some are forgotten, Mary Poppins will go on marching triumphantly--umbrella, carpet bag and white gloves in hand.  No parent or child should miss his share of the fun, the beauty and magic it holds.
--Reviewed by Sophie, Books Inc. Chestnut Street

The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen

The kingdom has lost its royal family and in order to prevent civil war a nobleman has taken up the task to train four young orphans to become the kingdom's "long lost prince". But there can only be one winner to claim the throne and the boys' endurance, strength, and wits are tested. The novel centers on Sage, a highly sarcastic, intelligent, and talented young boy. A lot of action and deception (even from Sage's first person narrative) will keep children 10 + reading and guessing.

This is a well-written story and its plot moves smoothly. It is the first in a series, and apart from the medieval setting, there are no magical or fantasy elements. I could however, see the sequels dealing with more of these things.

-Kelly, Books Inc. Laurel Village

Guest Review: Literary Exploration takes on THRONE OF GLASS

I recently finished the first season of Game of Thrones which immediately put me on a high fantasy kick. I then devoured Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes and after meeting Sarah at Comic-Con (who is absolutely amazing!!) I knew it was time to pick up Throne of Glass. Throne of Glass is an epic high fantasy adventure set in a dystopian-like atmosphere that has been abandoned by ancient magic. Not only is the story fast-paced and intriguing, but there is a love triangle... that works. The characters are all amazing and individual and Celaena is a fantastic female protagonist. If you're looking for a great high fantasy read while waiting for the next season of Game of Thrones this is definitely one you'll want to pick up.

Celaena may be an assassin, but she's also compassionate, strong, smart, and funny! Her personality isn't limited to a killing-machine and despite her deadly flaws she's an amazing female protagonist. Her relationships with Choal and Dorian are stressed most of the time, due to the fact that she is an assassin, but the way the triangle develops is a rarity in YA these days. I may have liked one more than the other, but there isn't a battle between the two men. In fact, I'm not sure they realize they're in love with her at all most of the time. If I could highlight a great love triangle, this would be it. And Celaena is funny. Like, laugh out loud funny. She's amazingly level-headed, and her ability to be witty and sarcastic while her life is in danger is just wonderful!

Throne of Glass is filled with mystery, intrigue, and murder! Maas's writing style is just so elegant and real. There isn't an overabundance of fancy words or a condescending tone, it's just honest and passionate. The pace is really fast, but not so fast that I couldn't understand what was going on. I was always interested in what was happening and I had a hard time putting the book down at all. The world-building is magnificent; it's so real I felt like I was actually within Celaena's world. It's a fantastical setting filled with romance, murder, and magic which are three of my favorite things!

If you're struggling to find an awesome fantastical read Throne of Glass is one you won't want to miss out on. The world-building is fun and creative, and the characters are intensely real. Choal and Dorian are swoon-worthy in their own ways and Celaena's kick butt attitude constantly had me cheering her on. Sarah J. Maas is a force to be reckoned with, and her debut novel had me gripping the edge of my seat. Despite the many prequels she's penned, I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel! Fans of Game of Thrones, Hunger Games, and all high fantasy will want to pick this one up!

 -Reviewed by Anna of Literary Exploration

Every Day by David Levithan

I am a huge, huge fan of almost everything David does. And he’s done it again. This book has a fascinating premise. The main character exists as a human entity but has no body to call its own. Every morning A. wakes up within a new outer shell be it male, female, gay, straight, white, black, fat, thin, functional or addicted. All is good and well until A. falls in love and has a reason to want to stop jumping.

David Levithan's writing is so, so good I could have read a book twice its length. And that is really my only gripe with the book. I needed a bit more time. Levithan has definitely touched me again, but this time more my head than my heart, which is not a bad thing. Very excited to get people of all ages reading this one.

--Summer from Books Inc. Laurel Village


With a conceit as mind-boggling, logic-defying, face-explodingly-original as that in David Levithan's newest, one cannot help but wonder... is David Levithan... a robot? Or a god? Point being, he can't be human. Humans just aren't that good.

But then, he HAS to be human. Because in the pages of Every Day is a story of stunning emotional acuity-- as sentimental as it is unflinching-- that could only be born from the inimitable human experience.

I read this book on a sunny day in San Francisco. I sat in Dolores Park and read it all the way through. Around me, people played frisbee, smoked, chatted, cuddled. They came and left. And as I read I felt a mounting curiousity and empathy-- because as strange and distant as we were, I could not help but feel that they, like me, would feel a kinship with Every Day's narrator, A. That they, just like me, would read A's story and think, "that's me, that's my life too, I thought I was the only one," which is the real feat of this novel.

--Maggie, NYMBC lady and Children's Department Director

You can preorder a copy here and meet David at our October 12th event!

You can also read this INDIE EXCLUSIVE extra Every Day story here!



Subscribe to RSS - blogs