Blogs

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father's killer through multiple dimensions. Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes--and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite's father is murdered, and the killer--her parent's handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul--escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows--including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul's guilt--as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father's death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You, the first book in the Firebird trilogy, explores an amazingly intricate multiverse where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

Why we can't wait: Intrigue, science fiction, action, adventure, romance, this book has it all! We're obsessed with Claudia Gray and her newest novel is bound to be just as spectacular as the rest. She's definitely dipping her toes into the water of a new genre and we can't wait to see what she's come up with. A Thousand Pieces of You is a MUST for this holiday season! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: "730. That's how many days I've been trapped.""18. That's how many days I have left to find a way out."
DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible....
JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister....
MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She's about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window.....
In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.

Why we can't wait: Escape from a maze-like city before your life is forfeit? A girl who lives in a brothel? Three different points of view that all come together. Hopefully these kids make it out alive. This is a perfect thriller for those of us who enjoyed The Maze Runner. Over at Books Inc. we're obsessed with new and refreshing ideas and The Wall meets all those requiremenents!
-- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

With deft wit and no shortage of self-reflective charm, Scott Westerfield has woven a masterpiece in Afterworlds. Seamlessly blending two narratives is no easy feat, but one handily achieved in this twofer of a novel that follows a young debut author through her literary coming of age as well as her supernaturally gifted protagonist. You won’t be able to put it down. -- Briah from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

 

Meet Scott Westerfeld, October 22nd at Books Inc. Opera Plaza! Purchase tickets here: NYMBC and NaNoWriMo present Scott Westerfeld!!!!

I have to say, Freakboy is one of the most touching and thought-provoking books about LGBT issues I’ve ever read. Brendan Chase is a star wrestler, part of the popular crowd, has a beautiful girlfriend, and loves playing video games. But Brendan has a secret: Brendan aches to have pouty lips, luxuriously long hair, slender fingers, and a tiny waist. Brendan wishes he were a girl. But he doesn’t understand these feelings, because he also loves his girlfriend. Freakboy discusses the idea of gender fluidity – always feeling like a mix of male and female, moving in and out of the two, some days feeling more male, and feeling more female on others. Written from the perspectives of Brendan, Brendan’s girlfriend, and Angel – a transgender girl who becomes Brendan’s confidante and support system – Freakboy is startlingly honest and brilliantly written. This is the perfect novel for fans of John Green, Ellen Hopkins, and David Levithan. -- Reviewed by Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Growing up on a farm in the hottest corner of Zimbabwe Will Silver deeply loves the land, the animals and the people who surround her and love her right back. When her father unexpectedly dies devastated, Will is dealt another blow when her caretaker's new wife decides the Will and her wild ways would benefit from boarding school in England taking her away from everything she holds dear and thrusting her into a world she is completely unprepared for. Rundell's prose is magical and this touching story of friendship, love and resiliance is sure touch your heart. -- Reviewed by Shannon, Books Inc. Children's Department Buyer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ned's twin brother was killed in a tragic accident when they were young boys. In an attempt to save them both, their Mother the village Witch uses magic to stitch his soul to Ned. The magic which is of course never supposed to be used for personal gain has unintended consequences and leaves Ned a weak and stuttering boy, teased and barely tolerated by the rest of his village. When his mother is unexpectedly called away by the queen, Ned is left to guard the tempermental magic. In her absence, the bandit king, who is obsessed and pulled by the magic, tries to steal it away setting off a chain of events and turning Ned into an unlikely hero. This is a page-turning fantasy adventure story with a rich cast of characters, told from multiple perspectives. I simply couldn't put it down! -- Reviewed by Shannon, Books Inc. Children's Department Buyer

 

Growing up in Savannah, Georgia, 16-year-old Dovey is no stranger to storms. She knows how to survive and how to prepare the house when one comes. But Hurricane Josephine is no ordinary storm. After the storm kills her best friend, Carly, Dovey has a psychotic break and ends up on pills that are supposed to help her, but instead leave her confused, groggy, and out of touch with reality. She's struggling to get by when one day she sees her supposedly dead best friend in a cafe. After ditching her meds, Dovey goes on a quest to find out just what happened to Carly, but what she uncovers is a dark and sinister web closing tightly over the city she loves - and Josephine was only the beginning. Something wicked this way comes indeed...

Dark, engaging, and spooky as all get out, Servants of the Storm is a perfect book to read during a storm or right before Halloween! Great for the older teen who was hooked on R.L. Stine and wants something more. Dovey, being bi-racial and her best friend being African American, adds another dimension (albeit briefly discussed) of racial tension that runs through the heart of Savannah. -- Reviewed by Katherine from Books Inc. Laurel Village

Pages