0 Items $0.00

Books Inc. Kids Review - Black and White Toys by David Stewart

Black and White: Toys by David Stewart
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Publisher: Scribblers
Genre: Board Books
Ages: 2-5

Eyes on children's most beloved toys! What would you like to play with—the teddy bear? Blocks? A rubber ducky? Little ones will happily gaze on black-and-white pictures of some of their favorite things. This striking and stylish board book features bold images especially designed to hold the attention of infants from birth to one year. And the special fabulous die-cut sparkly shape on the last page will delight baby!

This book is terrific for infants! It is easier for infants to distinguish black and white versus colors. Each page is replicated. The Toy is Black and White on the page, then White on Black on the following page. It is a very cool concept. The last page has a glittery surprise (a glittery duck). We have it on great authority that 8 month old Connor loves this book to be read to him and he says “it tastes good too!”
Reviewed by Chantal from Books Inc. Mountain View

Share this

Sweet Pepper Gin

When you first meet Eva in J. Ryan Stradal’s Kitchens of the Great Midwest, you’ll be introduced to her love for all things peppery.

Eva’s cousin, Braque, has gotten used to using the lavender in her campus’ Shakespeare Garden to overpower the pungent smells that waft through college life.

Combining both produces one swell drink, you betcha.

 

Sweet Pepper Gin
2 oz. Dry Gin
.25 oz Yellow Sweet-Pepper Jelly
1-2 Droppers Bitter Tears
Lavender Bitters

Stir all with ice. Strain into an ice-filled glass.  Garnish with sweet pepper and lavender.

 

Share this

Highly Anticipating - Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke
Expected Publication Date: August 18th, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Page Count: 400 pages

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror
A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea's April Genevieve Tucholke.
Each story draws from a classic tale or two sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.
Fans of TV's The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:
Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters.

Why We Can't Wait: This is an AMAZING list of authors we love and we can't WAIT to get our hands on this one! Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, Jay Kirstoff, Nova Ren Suma?! YES PLEASE!

Share this

Pages