Blogs

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Publication Date: February 10th, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 448 pages

For readers of" A Game of Thrones" and "The Hunger Games" comes an epic new series.
The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.
As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.
And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.
But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.
Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.
And now it's too late to walk away.

What we think: I'm only about 50 pages in, but OH MY! Set in our own world with a magical twist, Seeker is a must-read for fans of Graceling and Shadow and Bone. Quin is a tough chick and I love her attitude. John is a bit of a mystery, but I'm excited to see how his character develops. Seeker is also told from multiple POVs which is something I ALWAYS love! If you're a fan of fantasy, adventure, and a bit of mystery, DEFINITELY add this one to your TBR! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Bad Magic

by Pseudonymous Bosch

People may be wondering if Pseudonymous Bosch's new book, Bad Magic, can live up to the high expectations garnered from his popular Secret Series, and the answer is absolutely it can. Bad Magic has the same cheeky wit Bosch is known for combined with a fast paced story of intrigue, self discovery, and wonderfully bad magic. His footnotes are hilarious (and educational with allusions to such famous pieces of art as Gilligan's Island, The Loveboat, and William Shakespeare's The Tempest), and the story is never dull as the main character, Clay, is put in exceedingly more ridiculous situations where he is forced to uncover the truth on a mysterious island. Even though it has elements any fantasy or mystery lover would enjoy, ultimately Bad Magic is about standing up for yourself and believing in your own abilities. Clay begins his journey shy and troubled, and ends with courage, a sense of adventure, and friends he never thought he'd have. A perfect read for those who loved the Secret Series, but also anyone who loves a good old rollicking adventure. Ages 10+

Reviewed by Irene at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Visit our Books Inc. Kids Facebook page here!

From the award-winning star of Channel 4's Lost + The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Titan Books brings you an enchanting and mischievious debut, The Squickerwonkers by Evangeline Lilly.

Books Inc. in The Marina very excitedly welcomes actress and author Evangeline Lilly in celebration of the first volume of this eccentric and visually stunning cautionary tale, The Squickerwonkers! Meet Selma of the Rin-Run Royals, a clever little girl who is spoiled to the core. One day Selma stumbles upon a band of colorful marionettes, and gets more than she bargained for. The remarkable Squickerwonkers of the fabulous Squickershow are about to teach Selma that she'll not always get her way.

Please note: This event is free and open to the public. Priority in the signing line will be given to those with a Books Inc. receipt for The Squickerwonkers.

 

Event date: 
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
2251 Chestnut St
San Francisco, CA

 

Cute and romantic, LaCour writes a story in which two young women find each other through incredible twists of fate and grow closer through their love of movies. As a huge film lover and an advocate for diverse books, I LOVED this novel. While this is a novel that involves a young lesbian romance, it was always about these girls falling in love with each other as people. A lot of LGBT YA is about coming out and, while those books are important, it was refreshing to read a good old love story. I also really enjoyed the behind the scenes insights to movie making that is make up a lot of the book. The passion for set design that Emi, the protagonist, has is very infectious and inspiring.This is quite the lovely read! -- Karen from Books Inc. Terminal 2

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: A sweeping, epic saga of romance and hardship, set against the dramatic backdrop of ancient Mesopotamia--perfect for fans of Cleopatra's Moon or the adult bestseller The Red Tent.

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden's tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden's turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe's leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family's position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden's heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden's heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb's increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden's every move, she knows she must find a way to escape--or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family's survival on the line, Jayden must finish the deadly journey to save the ones she loves--and find true love for herself.

Why we can't wait: Forbidden romance? Mesopotamia? Plus look at that gorgeous cover!! I don't even care that a love triangle seems to be involved, because seriously it'll probably be freakin fantastic. Our love for Cleopatra's Moon is also something that's piqued my interest!! Yes, I want this and I want it now! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: It had to end sometime, but Mara had no idea it would end like this. Experience the mind-blowing conclusion to the "New York Times "bestselling Mara Dyer trilogy.
Mara Dyer wants to believe there's more to the lies she's been told.
There is.
She doesn't stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.
She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.
Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer's story.
Retribution has arrived.

Why we can't wait: I mean, it's the final installment in the Mara Dyer trilogy, of COURSE we're excited!!! Aren't you?! What's going to happen?! Who IS Mara Dyer?! Hopefully all our questions will be answered. I may end up curled up in a ball crying for a week, but hey, it'll be totally worth it, right? -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Karn is destined to take over his family’s farm in Norrongard, but he has absolutely no desire to do so. He would much rather play game after game of Thrones and Bones. Thianna is a half giantess, half human who is constantly trying to prove herself amongst her fellow Frost Giants. When dangerous and ancient creatures threaten their families, Thianna and Karn must flee their homes in hopes of finding out the truth and saving everyone they love.  Frostborn is a magical and exhilarating story that’s perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Fablehaven. I can even see it going as far as being a Game of Thrones for young readers. Dragons, wyverns, after walkers, and giants all play a part in this story making it exciting and magical. Anders’ use of Viking mythology also plays a subtle roll in Karn’s history and the legends of Norrongard, which always has me wanting more. We need more Viking stories! I loved it, and it’s definitely worth picking up! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

UnDivided by Neal Shusterman (Unwind #4)
Publication Date: October 14th, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 372 pages

What we think: UnDivided is the newest and final installment in the Unwind trilogy and it's just as phenomenal as the others! UnDivided kicks off with a bang and starts right where the last book left off. Shusterman does a fabulous job of keeping readers up to speed without being overly redundant, making it easier for those of us who read UnSouled when it came out to remember the full story. I have to admit, I'm only reading a few pages at a time because, alas, this is the last book in the series and I just don't want it to end!!! Shusterman, why must you play with my heart this way?! If you haven't already picked up Unwind, I highly recommend it. The series is fast-paced, exciting, beautifully written, and thought-provoking. The haunting images Shusterman paints will stay with you for a long time. So far, UnDivided is fulfilling the fangirl in me! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

What if there were a hormone in beef that decimated the majority of women in the United States? Catherine Linka presents a horrifically realistic future where women are a commodity and their individual rights are nonexistent. Under this Paternalist Movement, all Avie wants to do is go to college. However, Avie’s dream ends when her father sells her for $50 million to a businessman twice her age.  Now she faces a terrible choice, torn between saving her father’s company--by going through with the marriage--or leaving everything she’s ever known and fleeing to Canada.  Page turning and suspenseful, Linka really knows how to up the stakes with star-crossed love, secrets and potential revolution. What really shines though is watching Avie’s evolution from sheltered teenager to a bold heroine. Great for book clubs, there’s plenty to discuss. -- Connie from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Pages