Blogs

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
Expected Publication Date: May 5th, 2015
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 432 pages

Peyton, Sydney's charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion's share of their parents' attention and--lately--concern. When Peyton's increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?
Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.
The uber-popular Sarah Dessen explores her signature themes of family, self-discovery, and change in her twelfth novel, sure to delight her legions of fans.

Why we can't wait: Um, new Sarah Dessen please and thank you.

 

Denton Little's Deathdate by Lance Rubin
Expected Publication Date: April 14th, 2015
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 352 pages

Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.
"Denton Little's Deathdate" takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day on which they will die. For Denton, that's in just two days--the day of his senior prom.
Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle--as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend's hostile sister. (Though he's not totally sure--see, first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is "this" what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton's long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters. . . . Suddenly Denton's life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.
Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager's life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.

Why we can't wait: Get ready to die laughing?! SOLD! Also, I'll read anything with a hearse on the cover!

Picture Books (Ages 2-6)


Middle Grade (Ages 8-12)

Yayyyyyy Nova Ren Suma's THE WALLS AROUND US comes out today and it is AMAZING!
READ IT EVERYONE!


   


 

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
Expected Publication Date: May 12th, 2015
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Genre: Fairy tales/fantasy/romance

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by "A Thousand and One Nights"
Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi's wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she's falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.
She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

It’s rare that a book so vividly fantastical comes along. A book that captures your mind so completely that you miss your train stop, weep furiously in public, and sigh in anger as soon as the last page is turned. The Wrath and the Dawn is one of those books. A new spin on the classic 1001 Nights tale with a Beauty and the Beast twist, The Wrath and the Dawn is a beautifully crafted story that twists and turns itself into something that leaves you breathless and wanting more.

Shazi sets out to right the wrongs that the 18-year-old Caliph of Khorasan has done to her people. She seeks revenge for her best friend, taken by the Caliph and murdered in the same fashion as the other girls. Every night the Caliph takes a new wife, and in the morning she’s dead, found with a silken rope around her neck. The Caliph is a cruel ruler, feared by his people, but Shazi does not fear him. Her strength and unwillingness to back down to this mysterious king is admirable, and her stubborn nature keeps her alive. Throughout her time at the castle, Shazi discovers that things aren’t as they seem. Is the Caliph really as cruel a king as the people think, or is something more sinister going on?

Renee Ahdieh has taken classic fairy tales and given them new life. She’s written a story so real you can feel the sand of the Khorasan desert beneath your feet. Perfect, sensual, brilliant – just read it.
Reviewed by Anna, Not Your Mother's Book Club Coordinator

Thor's Serpents by K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr
Expected Publication Date: May 19th, 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 368 pages

For fans of "Percy Jackson and the Olympians," the thrilling conclusion to The Blackwell Pages, written by "New York Times "bestselling YA authors, K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr.
Thirteen-year-olds Matt, Laurie, and Fen have beaten near-impossible odds to assemble their fellow descendants of the Norse Gods and complete epic quests. Their biggest challenge lies ahead: battling the fierce monsters working to bring about the apocalypse.
But when they learn that Matt must fight the Midgard Serpent alone and Fen and Laurie are pulled in other directions, the friends realize they can't take every step of this journey together. Matt, Laurie, and Fen will each have to fight their own battles to survive, to be true to themselves, and to one another - with nothing less than the fate of the world hanging in the balance.

Why we can't wait: Book 3 in the Loki's Wolves series!!!! Kids love it, parents love it, we love it. Yeah, we want it now.

Bear and Duck by Katy Hudson
Expected Publication Date: May 12th, 2015
Publisher: HarperCollins
Page Count: 32 pages

Bear is sick and tired of being a bear. Who wants to sleep all winter? His fur feels so hot in the summer. And the bees . . . there are just too many angry bees! Bear is done being a bear. But when he sees a line of happy yellow ducklings, he has a thought. What if he could be a duck?

With a few duck lessons from Duck, Bear learns that being a duck is fun; but as it turns out, Bear realizes he makes a really good bear . . . and he makes a really good friend along the way. Young readers will delight in the hilarious relationship between Bear and Duck.

Why we can't wait: I mean this just looks absolutely adorable. And really, who doesn't want to be a duck?!

Pages