Blogs

With deft wit and no shortage of self-reflective charm, Scott Westerfield has woven a masterpiece in Afterworlds. Seamlessly blending two narratives is no easy feat, but one handily achieved in this twofer of a novel that follows a young debut author through her literary coming of age as well as her supernaturally gifted protagonist. You won’t be able to put it down. -- Briah from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

 

Meet Scott Westerfeld, October 22nd at Books Inc. Opera Plaza! Purchase tickets here: NYMBC and NaNoWriMo present Scott Westerfeld!!!!

I have to say, Freakboy is one of the most touching and thought-provoking books about LGBT issues I’ve ever read. Brendan Chase is a star wrestler, part of the popular crowd, has a beautiful girlfriend, and loves playing video games. But Brendan has a secret: Brendan aches to have pouty lips, luxuriously long hair, slender fingers, and a tiny waist. Brendan wishes he were a girl. But he doesn’t understand these feelings, because he also loves his girlfriend. Freakboy discusses the idea of gender fluidity – always feeling like a mix of male and female, moving in and out of the two, some days feeling more male, and feeling more female on others. Written from the perspectives of Brendan, Brendan’s girlfriend, and Angel – a transgender girl who becomes Brendan’s confidante and support system – Freakboy is startlingly honest and brilliantly written. This is the perfect novel for fans of John Green, Ellen Hopkins, and David Levithan. -- Reviewed by Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Growing up on a farm in the hottest corner of Zimbabwe Will Silver deeply loves the land, the animals and the people who surround her and love her right back. When her father unexpectedly dies devastated, Will is dealt another blow when her caretaker's new wife decides the Will and her wild ways would benefit from boarding school in England taking her away from everything she holds dear and thrusting her into a world she is completely unprepared for. Rundell's prose is magical and this touching story of friendship, love and resiliance is sure touch your heart. -- Reviewed by Shannon, Books Inc. Children's Department Buyer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ned's twin brother was killed in a tragic accident when they were young boys. In an attempt to save them both, their Mother the village Witch uses magic to stitch his soul to Ned. The magic which is of course never supposed to be used for personal gain has unintended consequences and leaves Ned a weak and stuttering boy, teased and barely tolerated by the rest of his village. When his mother is unexpectedly called away by the queen, Ned is left to guard the tempermental magic. In her absence, the bandit king, who is obsessed and pulled by the magic, tries to steal it away setting off a chain of events and turning Ned into an unlikely hero. This is a page-turning fantasy adventure story with a rich cast of characters, told from multiple perspectives. I simply couldn't put it down! -- Reviewed by Shannon, Books Inc. Children's Department Buyer

 

Growing up in Savannah, Georgia, 16-year-old Dovey is no stranger to storms. She knows how to survive and how to prepare the house when one comes. But Hurricane Josephine is no ordinary storm. After the storm kills her best friend, Carly, Dovey has a psychotic break and ends up on pills that are supposed to help her, but instead leave her confused, groggy, and out of touch with reality. She's struggling to get by when one day she sees her supposedly dead best friend in a cafe. After ditching her meds, Dovey goes on a quest to find out just what happened to Carly, but what she uncovers is a dark and sinister web closing tightly over the city she loves - and Josephine was only the beginning. Something wicked this way comes indeed...

Dark, engaging, and spooky as all get out, Servants of the Storm is a perfect book to read during a storm or right before Halloween! Great for the older teen who was hooked on R.L. Stine and wants something more. Dovey, being bi-racial and her best friend being African American, adds another dimension (albeit briefly discussed) of racial tension that runs through the heart of Savannah. -- Reviewed by Katherine from Books Inc. Laurel Village

Pages