NYMBC's blog

Isla attends a boarding school in Paris, her best friend is autistic, and she’s been in love with a boy named Josh since Freshman year. She’s an introvert, a lover of comics, and an A+ student. Everything about Isla is pure emotional perfection. I constantly found myself identifying with her trials of love and her struggles with holding on to the various pieces of her life. Perkins’ way with words is both poetic and lyrical, sparking a joy and sadness that can only come from beautifully written stories.

I admit that I haven’t read any of the other books in the Anna series. I started with Isla and the Happily Ever After after being told that I didn’t need to read the books in order and I just happened to have a copy of Isla sitting on my shelf. But now, I know I have to read about Anna and Lola as well. Perkins captures the angst and intensity of first love in a way I could fully believe and relate to - when you fall head over heels for someone only to lose them and feel like you’re suffocating. I obsessed over this book for days after reading it, reliving the most intoxicating moments over and over again.
Reviewed by Anna at Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

 

comments powered by Disqus

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Publication Date: February 10th, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 448 pages

For readers of" A Game of Thrones" and "The Hunger Games" comes an epic new series.
The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.
As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.
And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.
But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.
Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.
And now it's too late to walk away.

What we think: I'm only about 50 pages in, but OH MY! Set in our own world with a magical twist, Seeker is a must-read for fans of Graceling and Shadow and Bone. Quin is a tough chick and I love her attitude. John is a bit of a mystery, but I'm excited to see how his character develops. Seeker is also told from multiple POVs which is something I ALWAYS love! If you're a fan of fantasy, adventure, and a bit of mystery, DEFINITELY add this one to your TBR! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Cute and romantic, LaCour writes a story in which two young women find each other through incredible twists of fate and grow closer through their love of movies. As a huge film lover and an advocate for diverse books, I LOVED this novel. While this is a novel that involves a young lesbian romance, it was always about these girls falling in love with each other as people. A lot of LGBT YA is about coming out and, while those books are important, it was refreshing to read a good old love story. I also really enjoyed the behind the scenes insights to movie making that is make up a lot of the book. The passion for set design that Emi, the protagonist, has is very infectious and inspiring.This is quite the lovely read! -- Karen from Books Inc. Terminal 2

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: A sweeping, epic saga of romance and hardship, set against the dramatic backdrop of ancient Mesopotamia--perfect for fans of Cleopatra's Moon or the adult bestseller The Red Tent.

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden's tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden's turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe's leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family's position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden's heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden's heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb's increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden's every move, she knows she must find a way to escape--or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family's survival on the line, Jayden must finish the deadly journey to save the ones she loves--and find true love for herself.

Why we can't wait: Forbidden romance? Mesopotamia? Plus look at that gorgeous cover!! I don't even care that a love triangle seems to be involved, because seriously it'll probably be freakin fantastic. Our love for Cleopatra's Moon is also something that's piqued my interest!! Yes, I want this and I want it now! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: It had to end sometime, but Mara had no idea it would end like this. Experience the mind-blowing conclusion to the "New York Times "bestselling Mara Dyer trilogy.
Mara Dyer wants to believe there's more to the lies she's been told.
There is.
She doesn't stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.
She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.
Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer's story.
Retribution has arrived.

Why we can't wait: I mean, it's the final installment in the Mara Dyer trilogy, of COURSE we're excited!!! Aren't you?! What's going to happen?! Who IS Mara Dyer?! Hopefully all our questions will be answered. I may end up curled up in a ball crying for a week, but hey, it'll be totally worth it, right? -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

UnDivided by Neal Shusterman (Unwind #4)
Publication Date: October 14th, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 372 pages

What we think: UnDivided is the newest and final installment in the Unwind trilogy and it's just as phenomenal as the others! UnDivided kicks off with a bang and starts right where the last book left off. Shusterman does a fabulous job of keeping readers up to speed without being overly redundant, making it easier for those of us who read UnSouled when it came out to remember the full story. I have to admit, I'm only reading a few pages at a time because, alas, this is the last book in the series and I just don't want it to end!!! Shusterman, why must you play with my heart this way?! If you haven't already picked up Unwind, I highly recommend it. The series is fast-paced, exciting, beautifully written, and thought-provoking. The haunting images Shusterman paints will stay with you for a long time. So far, UnDivided is fulfilling the fangirl in me! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

What if there were a hormone in beef that decimated the majority of women in the United States? Catherine Linka presents a horrifically realistic future where women are a commodity and their individual rights are nonexistent. Under this Paternalist Movement, all Avie wants to do is go to college. However, Avie’s dream ends when her father sells her for $50 million to a businessman twice her age.  Now she faces a terrible choice, torn between saving her father’s company--by going through with the marriage--or leaving everything she’s ever known and fleeing to Canada.  Page turning and suspenseful, Linka really knows how to up the stakes with star-crossed love, secrets and potential revolution. What really shines though is watching Avie’s evolution from sheltered teenager to a bold heroine. Great for book clubs, there’s plenty to discuss. -- Connie from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father's killer through multiple dimensions. Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes--and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite's father is murdered, and the killer--her parent's handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul--escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows--including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul's guilt--as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father's death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You, the first book in the Firebird trilogy, explores an amazingly intricate multiverse where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

Why we can't wait: Intrigue, science fiction, action, adventure, romance, this book has it all! We're obsessed with Claudia Gray and her newest novel is bound to be just as spectacular as the rest. She's definitely dipping her toes into the water of a new genre and we can't wait to see what she's come up with. A Thousand Pieces of You is a MUST for this holiday season! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: "730. That's how many days I've been trapped.""18. That's how many days I have left to find a way out."
DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible....
JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister....
MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She's about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window.....
In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.

Why we can't wait: Escape from a maze-like city before your life is forfeit? A girl who lives in a brothel? Three different points of view that all come together. Hopefully these kids make it out alive. This is a perfect thriller for those of us who enjoyed The Maze Runner. Over at Books Inc. we're obsessed with new and refreshing ideas and The Wall meets all those requiremenents!
-- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Pages