NYMBC's blog

New Releases for the week of June 30th!

SINNER follows Cole St. Clair, a pivotal character from the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Shiver Trilogy.

found.

Cole St. Clair has come to California for one reason: to get Isabel Culpeper back. She fled from his damaged, drained life, and damaged and drained it even more. He doesn't just want her. He needs her.

lost.

Isabel is trying to build herself a life in Los Angeles. It's not really working. She can play the game as well as all the other fakes. But what's the point? What is there to win?

sinner.

Cole and Isabel share a past that never seemed to have a future. They have the power to love each other and the power to tear each other apart. The only thing for certain is that they cannot let go.

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation.

Sarah Bean to her friends and family is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett.

But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It's there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she's older, too and she doesn't correct him.

For Sarah, it's a summer of firsts. Before she knows what's happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

 

Highly Anticipating - Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman
Expected Publication Date: August 18th, 2015
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
Page Count: 432 pages

Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains, and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.
Alexander, Macedon's sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world, but finds himself drawn to a newcomer...
Katerina must navigate the dark secrets of court life while keeping hidden her own mission: kill the queen. But she doesn't account for her first love...
Jacob will go to unthinkable lengths to win Katerina, even if it means having to compete with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince.
And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander's unmet betrothed, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.
Weaving fantasy with the shocking details of real history, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Sex with Kings" Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known, Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.

Why We Can't Wait: Look at that cover. Read that description. This book looks freakin amazing. YES WE NEED IT.

Highly Anticipating - Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray


Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray
Expected Publication Date: August 25th, 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 624 pages

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O'Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to "read" objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, "America's Sweetheart Seer." But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners' abilities...
Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?

Why we can't wait: NEW LIBBA BRAY WE WANTS IT NOW!

Review - Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley
Publication Date: April 28th, 2015
Publisher: HarperCollins
Genre: Fantasy and Magic


Maria Dahvana Headley's soaring YA debut is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman's Stardust meets John Green's The Fault in Our Stars in a story about a girl caught between two worlds . . . two races . . . and two destinies.

Aza Ray Boyle is drowning in thin air. Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak to live. So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn't think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who's always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world and found, by another. Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power but as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war between Magonia and Earth is coming. In Aza's hands lies fate of the whole of humanity including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

Magonia is perfectly weird in all the right ways. Reminiscent of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust, this is the perfect book for fans of weird science fiction. Turns out, Aza Ray’s mysterious lung disease isn’t a disease at all. Aza Ray isn’t from this world. She’s from a world in the sky. A world that’s approaching war, a war in which Aza Ray is the strongest weapon Magonia has. Magonia is a fast-paced adventure about embracing yourself and finding power hidden deep within. A masterfully told tale set in the clouds amongst a world that humans will never see.  Brilliant, breathtaking, and utterly magical, Magonia is the kind of story you immerse yourself in and never forget.
Anna, Not Your Mother's Book Club Coordinator

Highly Anticipating - Stone Rider by David Hofmeyr


Stone Rider by David Hofmeyr
Expected Publication Date: July 14th, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Page Count: 336 pages

 

In the vein of "The Outsiders" and the early Western novels of Elmore Leonard, this inventive debut novel, a cross between the cult classic Mad Max movie series and Cormac McCarthy's "The Road, " blends adrenaline-fueled action with an improbable yet tender romance to offer a rich and vivid portrayal of misfits and loners forced together in their struggle for a better life.
Adam Stone wants freedom and peace. He wants a chance to escape Blackwater, the dust-bowl desert town he grew up in. Most of all, he wants the beautiful Sadie Blood. Alongside Sadie and the dangerous outsider Kane, Adam will ride the Blackwater Trail in a brutal race that will test them all, body and soul. Only the strongest will survive.
The prize? A one-way ticket to Sky-Base and unimaginable luxury.
And for a chance at this new life, Adam will risk everything.

Why we can't wait: Um, excuse me, Mad Max meets The Outsiders? Yeah I'm sold. Will there be a Furiosa too?!??

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - NYMBC's blog