0 Items $0.00

NYMBC Recommended Summer Reads

It's only mid April, but I'm freaking excited for Summer, and it's not just because there's no school, lots of sun, beach time, and ice cream cones, but because of all the great reads coming our way! I've been lucky enough to read a few of them early, so let me give you my top 3 picks for summer reads so far!

1. Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

Bless Leigh Bardugo. Honestly. 

Review: Before you pick this book up, I'm going to advise you to do one thing: Forget everything you know about Wonder Woman. Leigh Bardugo wipes the slate clean and creates a new, modern history for Diana Prince and the Wonder Woman she is to become.
It's a tough feat to write a new story for such a beloved character, but Bardugo was up to the task, her signature wit and humor blend with the exciting action and twists and turns in a way that will be familiar to Bardugo fans and ring true to all Wonder Woman lovers. 
By far, one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and it did not disappoint. 

Reaction:

Wonder Woman Gif "Oh I don't Think You've Ever Know a Woman Like Me"

Wonder Woman: Warbringer hits stores this August. 

2. Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crawley

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

If you like books, bookstores, and books that hit you right in the feels, pick this one up.- 

Review :I haven't cried over a book in a long time, but this one almost got me. It's a love letter to books, words, and bookstores. But it's also about grief: "I'll tell her that I think he had been transmigrating all his life: leaving himself in the things he loved, in the people he loved. He brimmed over the edges of his own life, and escaped." Just a beautiful book all around, cover included. 

Reaction: 

GIF "Your Mouth is Smiling but your eyes look all sad.Why?"

Words in Deep Blue hits stores in June.

3. A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck 

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

For John Green fans AND those who weren't quite sold on John Green.

Review: Oh man. This book. I was up late last night bawling my eyes out and every time I thought I was done, it hit me again. A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is perfect for fans of John Green, you know, the author of all those books that destroyed you and you thanked him for it? Yeah that one. Reminiscent of Looking for Alaska, Short History dives into the world of high school freshmen Matt and Tabby who have been best friends their whole lives, living across the street from each other. Matt has been in love with Tabby for years, but it isn't until she starts dating the senior basketball star that he truly realizes how much. As Matt struggles with his own feelings, fighting to be supportive without breaking into LOVE ME tantrums, and his self-sabotaging tendencies of imagining movie-scene moments that real life never seems to match, he starts to spiral into a  self-destructive hole that's only compounded by a sudden tragedy. Full of rich, four dimensional characters and laugh out loud moments, A Short History of the Girl Next Door will make you cry, laugh, cry again, and spew water out of your noes. And you'll thank Jared Reck for the pain afterwards. 

 Also, I didn't count myself, but I was told there are about 300 curse words sprinkled through out the 265 pages. Epic.

HIGHLY Recommended. 

Reaction: 

GIF of Pam from the Office Smiling and Crying

A Short History of the Girl Next Door Comes out this September (IT'S STILL SUMMER!)

Have you read any of these? Tweet me your favorites! @nymbc

Happy reading! And eat as much ice cream as possible!

Wonder Woman Gif Ice Cream is Wonderful

 

Share this

Pages