NYMBC's blog

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: A sweeping, epic saga of romance and hardship, set against the dramatic backdrop of ancient Mesopotamia--perfect for fans of Cleopatra's Moon or the adult bestseller The Red Tent.

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden's tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden's turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe's leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family's position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden's heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden's heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb's increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden's every move, she knows she must find a way to escape--or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family's survival on the line, Jayden must finish the deadly journey to save the ones she loves--and find true love for herself.

Why we can't wait: Forbidden romance? Mesopotamia? Plus look at that gorgeous cover!! I don't even care that a love triangle seems to be involved, because seriously it'll probably be freakin fantastic. Our love for Cleopatra's Moon is also something that's piqued my interest!! Yes, I want this and I want it now! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: It had to end sometime, but Mara had no idea it would end like this. Experience the mind-blowing conclusion to the "New York Times "bestselling Mara Dyer trilogy.
Mara Dyer wants to believe there's more to the lies she's been told.
There is.
She doesn't stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.
She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.
Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer's story.
Retribution has arrived.

Why we can't wait: I mean, it's the final installment in the Mara Dyer trilogy, of COURSE we're excited!!! Aren't you?! What's going to happen?! Who IS Mara Dyer?! Hopefully all our questions will be answered. I may end up curled up in a ball crying for a week, but hey, it'll be totally worth it, right? -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

UnDivided by Neal Shusterman (Unwind #4)
Publication Date: October 14th, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 372 pages

What we think: UnDivided is the newest and final installment in the Unwind trilogy and it's just as phenomenal as the others! UnDivided kicks off with a bang and starts right where the last book left off. Shusterman does a fabulous job of keeping readers up to speed without being overly redundant, making it easier for those of us who read UnSouled when it came out to remember the full story. I have to admit, I'm only reading a few pages at a time because, alas, this is the last book in the series and I just don't want it to end!!! Shusterman, why must you play with my heart this way?! If you haven't already picked up Unwind, I highly recommend it. The series is fast-paced, exciting, beautifully written, and thought-provoking. The haunting images Shusterman paints will stay with you for a long time. So far, UnDivided is fulfilling the fangirl in me! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

What if there were a hormone in beef that decimated the majority of women in the United States? Catherine Linka presents a horrifically realistic future where women are a commodity and their individual rights are nonexistent. Under this Paternalist Movement, all Avie wants to do is go to college. However, Avie’s dream ends when her father sells her for $50 million to a businessman twice her age.  Now she faces a terrible choice, torn between saving her father’s company--by going through with the marriage--or leaving everything she’s ever known and fleeing to Canada.  Page turning and suspenseful, Linka really knows how to up the stakes with star-crossed love, secrets and potential revolution. What really shines though is watching Avie’s evolution from sheltered teenager to a bold heroine. Great for book clubs, there’s plenty to discuss. -- Connie from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father's killer through multiple dimensions. Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes--and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite's father is murdered, and the killer--her parent's handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul--escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows--including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul's guilt--as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father's death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You, the first book in the Firebird trilogy, explores an amazingly intricate multiverse where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

Why we can't wait: Intrigue, science fiction, action, adventure, romance, this book has it all! We're obsessed with Claudia Gray and her newest novel is bound to be just as spectacular as the rest. She's definitely dipping her toes into the water of a new genre and we can't wait to see what she's come up with. A Thousand Pieces of You is a MUST for this holiday season! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: "730. That's how many days I've been trapped.""18. That's how many days I have left to find a way out."
DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible....
JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister....
MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She's about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window.....
In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.

Why we can't wait: Escape from a maze-like city before your life is forfeit? A girl who lives in a brothel? Three different points of view that all come together. Hopefully these kids make it out alive. This is a perfect thriller for those of us who enjoyed The Maze Runner. Over at Books Inc. we're obsessed with new and refreshing ideas and The Wall meets all those requiremenents!
-- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

With deft wit and no shortage of self-reflective charm, Scott Westerfield has woven a masterpiece in Afterworlds. Seamlessly blending two narratives is no easy feat, but one handily achieved in this twofer of a novel that follows a young debut author through her literary coming of age as well as her supernaturally gifted protagonist. You won’t be able to put it down. -- Briah from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

 

Meet Scott Westerfeld, October 22nd at Books Inc. Opera Plaza! Purchase tickets here: NYMBC and NaNoWriMo present Scott Westerfeld!!!!

I have to say, Freakboy is one of the most touching and thought-provoking books about LGBT issues I’ve ever read. Brendan Chase is a star wrestler, part of the popular crowd, has a beautiful girlfriend, and loves playing video games. But Brendan has a secret: Brendan aches to have pouty lips, luxuriously long hair, slender fingers, and a tiny waist. Brendan wishes he were a girl. But he doesn’t understand these feelings, because he also loves his girlfriend. Freakboy discusses the idea of gender fluidity – always feeling like a mix of male and female, moving in and out of the two, some days feeling more male, and feeling more female on others. Written from the perspectives of Brendan, Brendan’s girlfriend, and Angel – a transgender girl who becomes Brendan’s confidante and support system – Freakboy is startlingly honest and brilliantly written. This is the perfect novel for fans of John Green, Ellen Hopkins, and David Levithan. -- Reviewed by Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Growing up in Savannah, Georgia, 16-year-old Dovey is no stranger to storms. She knows how to survive and how to prepare the house when one comes. But Hurricane Josephine is no ordinary storm. After the storm kills her best friend, Carly, Dovey has a psychotic break and ends up on pills that are supposed to help her, but instead leave her confused, groggy, and out of touch with reality. She's struggling to get by when one day she sees her supposedly dead best friend in a cafe. After ditching her meds, Dovey goes on a quest to find out just what happened to Carly, but what she uncovers is a dark and sinister web closing tightly over the city she loves - and Josephine was only the beginning. Something wicked this way comes indeed...

Dark, engaging, and spooky as all get out, Servants of the Storm is a perfect book to read during a storm or right before Halloween! Great for the older teen who was hooked on R.L. Stine and wants something more. Dovey, being bi-racial and her best friend being African American, adds another dimension (albeit briefly discussed) of racial tension that runs through the heart of Savannah. -- Reviewed by Katherine from Books Inc. Laurel Village

Pages