booksinckids's blog

Books Inc. Kids Review - Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones
Publication Date: May 12, 2015
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genre: Middle Reader
Ages: 8-12

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.  Told in letters to Sophie s "abuela, " quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, "Unusual Chickens" is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.

When Sophie and her family move from the city to the farm they've inherited, they worry that they aren't cut out for country living. While her parents struggle to make ends meet, Sophie explores the farm -- and begins to find chickens that would give even the most weathered farmer a run for her money. Determined to make the most of her new life, Sophie dives headfirst into the care and keeping of chickens, unusual and otherwise. Half the joy of the book is waiting to see what powers the next chicken will have, and they never disappoint. Kelly Jones has created a coop with abilities as varied as the cast of a Marvel comic book.

Even better, the book's human cast is just as diverse as its superpowered chickens. Numerous skin tones, racial identities, and romantic orientations exist in the world of the book, and it's refreshing to see a children's author recognize the importance of positive representation. Sophie is bold and inquisitive, with a strong sense of responsibility and loyalty. Her family's financial struggle feels real, and helps ground what is often a very silly story. Katie Kath's gorgeous illustrations bring the world and characters to life, and remind me of some of children's literature's all-time greats. It's a beautiful book, and one I can't wait to share with the young readers in my life.

Reviewed by David at Books Inc. in Berkeley

 

Books Inc. Kids Highly Anticipating - Fuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar

 


Fuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar
Expected Publication Date: August 4th, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Ages: 10+

From the author of the acclaimed bestseller "Holes, " winner of the Newbery Award and the National Book Award, comes a new middle-grade novel with universal appeal. Combining horror-movie suspense with the issues of friendship, bullying, and the possibility of ecological disaster, this novel will intrigue, surprise, and inspire readers and compel them to think twice about how they treat others as well as their environment.
"Be careful. Your next step may be your last."
Fifth grader Tamaya Dhilwaddi and seventh grader Marshall Walsh have been walking to and from Woodridge Academy together since elementary school. But their routine is disrupted when bully Chad Hilligaschallenges Marshall to a fight. To avoid the conflict, Marshall takes a shortcut home through the off-limits woods. Tamaya, unaware of the reason for the detour, reluctantly follows. They soon get lost. And then they find trouble. Bigger trouble than anyone could ever have imagined.
In the days and weeks that follow, the authorities and the U.S. Senate become involved, and what they uncover might affect the future of the world.

Why We Can't Wait: Louis Sachar. Nuff said.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - booksinckids's blog