booksinckids's blog

Highly Anticipating - I Will Take a Nap! by Mo Willems & Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins


I Will Take a Nap! by Mo Willems
Expected Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Ages: 3-5

Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.
Gerald and Piggie are best friends.
In "I Will Take a Nap " Gerald is tired and cranky. Will Piggie be in his dreams? Or will she keep Gerald from dreaming at all?

Why We Can't Wait: ELEPHANT AND PIGGIE NEED WE SAY MORE?!


Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins
Expected Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Publisher: Chronicle
Ages: 4-7

Who knew that cakes were so rude? In this deliciously entertaining book, a not-so-sweet cake--who never says please or thank you or listens to its parents--gets its just desserts. Mixing hilarious text and pictures, Rowboat Watkins, a former Sendak fellow, has cooked up a laugh-out- loud story that can also be served up as a delectable discussion starter about manners or bullying, as it sweetly reminds us all that even the rudest cake can learn to change its ways.

Why We Can't Wait: The illustrations are the perfect complement to this whimsical and silly story about a very rude cake who's mistaken as being a hat for a giant. It's utterly ridiculous and delightfully funny!

Books Inc. Kids Review - I Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel & Jazz Jennings

I Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel, Jazz Jennings, Shelagh McNicholas (Illustrator)
Publication Date: September  4th, 2014
Publisher: Dial Books
Genre: Picture Book - Special Issues
Ages: 4-8

The story of a transgender child based on the real-life experience of Jazz Jennings, who has become a spokesperson for transkids everywhere
"This is an essential tool for parents and teachers to share with children whether those kids identify as trans or not. I wish I had had a book like this when I was a kid struggling with gender identity questions. I found it deeply moving in its simplicity and honesty."--Laverne Cox (who plays Sophia in "Orange Is the New Black")
From the time she was two years old, Jazz knew that she had a girl's brain in a boy's body. She loved pink and dressing up as a mermaid and didn't feel like herself in boys' clothing. This confused her family, until they took her to a doctor who said that Jazz was transgender and that she was born that way. Jazz's story is based on her real-life experience and she tells it in a simple, clear way that will be appreciated by picture book readers, their parents, and teachers.

I am Jazz by Jessica Herthel and Jazz is what all "special issues" books should be. Clear and straightforward yet breezy and fun, this book tells the story of a transgender child. Jazz is a girl caught in a boy's body and she tells her story without preaching. Her friends and family love her but think she should dress as a boy when she's in public. With the help of a good doctor, her parents begin to understand and even her school lets her play on the girls futbol team. The illustrations by Shelagh McNichols are pink and pretty and perfect for this story.
It will be tough on Jazz as she gets older but, for now, she is a healthy and happy little girl.
Reviewed by Elizabeth from Books Inc. Alameda

Current Obsession - Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones


Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones
Expected Publication Date: May 12th, 2015
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224 pages

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they've inherited from a great-uncle. But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky chicken appears and Sophie discovers the hen can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain: jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, the "entire" henhouse....
And then more of her great-uncle's unusual chickens come home to roost. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, earning money for chicken feed, collecting eggs. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe.
Told in letters to Sophie's "abuela, " quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, "Unusual Chickens" is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.

Highly Anticipating - Sea Rex by Molly Idle & Unicorn on a Roll by Dana Simpson

Sea Rex by Molly Idle
Expected Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 40 pages
Ages: 3-6

What could that be

down in the sea?

Is it a fish?

A snail?

A mermaid's tail?

No, it's bigger than that . . .

a LOT bigger . . .

it's Sea Rex


Join Cordelia and her crestacious companions as they spend a memorable day at the beach, as only dinosaurs can do

Why we can't wait: We LOVE Molly's books at Books Inc. and this is going to be THE PERFECT book for summer vacation!

Unicorn on a Roll: Another Phoeve and Her Unicorn Adventure by Dana Simpson
Expected Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Page Count: 224 pages
Ages: 8-12

The magical friendship of Phoebe and her best friend, unicorn Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, is back in this second adventure of a girl and her mythical creature
One year has passed since Phoebe skipped a rock across a pond, accidentally hit a unicorn in the face, and was granted a single wish--which she used to make the unicorn, Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, her obligational best friend. In some ways, not much has changed. At school Phoebe still clashes with her rival--and sometimes "frenemy"--the ever-taunting and imperious Dakota. Outside of school, she still fills her free time with extra-credit homework assignments, dramatic monologues about the injustices associated with school cliques, and imaginative conspiracy theories regarding global forces like the "powerful construction paper lobby." But unlike before, Phoebe now has a best friend to share it with--someone to make her laugh and to listen to all her extravagant ideas.
In this second volume of "Heavenly Nostrils," titled, "Unicorn on a Roll," the reader is invited on a journey into the lives of Phoebe and Marigold as they navigate the difficulties of grade school, celebrate the winter holidays, and explore their super hero/super villain personas together. Join in the fun, as Phoebe competes against Dakota for the leading role of "Lisa Ladybug" in their fourth-grade play--or as she struggles to "manage" the PR debacle related to her nose-picking-scandal. ("I will neither confirm nor deny the events surrounding Boogergate.") Witness a band of unicorns staging an "intervention" and learn all the details of Marigold's secret crush on a mysterious creature she has never seen. Perhaps most important, watch as this surprising friendship between a charming, nine-year-old dreamer and a vain, mythical beast forever changes both of them for the better.

Why we can't wait: Yes, Phoebe and Her Unicorn was probably one of our favorite books last year and WE CAN'T WAIT for more Marigold Heavenly Nostrils! Cay you?!

Books Inc. Kids Review - Mustache Baby Meets His Match by Bridget Heos

Mustache Baby Meets His Match by Bridget Heos, illustrated by Joy Ang
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Publisher: Clarion Books
Genre: Picture Book - Humor
Ages: 4-8

When Baby Javier comes for a playdate, Baby Billy, a.k.a. Mustache Baby, feels the need to show him a thing or two, seeing how Javier's new to town--and also sports an impressive beard. What ensues is a hilarious test of wills and facial hair, as each baby sets out to prove his manliness. It seems Mustache Baby may have truly met his match . . . but one-upmanship isn't the point of a playdate, is it?

Mustache Baby was a huge hit with all Books Inc. staffers and this adorable sequel is no different! Baby Billy meets his match when Javier (who's given a brief intro in Mustache Baby) shows up! Billy wants Javier to be his sidekick, but it seems like Javier bests Billy in every activity! From wrestling, to painting, to running for president, Javier does it better! And that really chaps Billy's hide! Watch Mustache Baby and Beard Baby face off in this hilarious sequel, you won't be disappointed!
Reviewed by Anna, Not Your Mother's Book Club Coordinator

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - booksinckids's blog