booksinckids's blog

Highly Anticipating - I Will Take a Nap! by Mo Willems & Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins


I Will Take a Nap! by Mo Willems
Expected Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Ages: 3-5

Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.
Gerald and Piggie are best friends.
In "I Will Take a Nap " Gerald is tired and cranky. Will Piggie be in his dreams? Or will she keep Gerald from dreaming at all?

Why We Can't Wait: ELEPHANT AND PIGGIE NEED WE SAY MORE?!


Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins
Expected Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Publisher: Chronicle
Ages: 4-7

Who knew that cakes were so rude? In this deliciously entertaining book, a not-so-sweet cake--who never says please or thank you or listens to its parents--gets its just desserts. Mixing hilarious text and pictures, Rowboat Watkins, a former Sendak fellow, has cooked up a laugh-out- loud story that can also be served up as a delectable discussion starter about manners or bullying, as it sweetly reminds us all that even the rudest cake can learn to change its ways.

Why We Can't Wait: The illustrations are the perfect complement to this whimsical and silly story about a very rude cake who's mistaken as being a hat for a giant. It's utterly ridiculous and delightfully funny!

Books Inc. Kids Review - I Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel & Jazz Jennings

I Am Jazz by Jessica Herthel, Jazz Jennings, Shelagh McNicholas (Illustrator)
Publication Date: September  4th, 2014
Publisher: Dial Books
Genre: Picture Book - Special Issues
Ages: 4-8

The story of a transgender child based on the real-life experience of Jazz Jennings, who has become a spokesperson for transkids everywhere
"This is an essential tool for parents and teachers to share with children whether those kids identify as trans or not. I wish I had had a book like this when I was a kid struggling with gender identity questions. I found it deeply moving in its simplicity and honesty."--Laverne Cox (who plays Sophia in "Orange Is the New Black")
From the time she was two years old, Jazz knew that she had a girl's brain in a boy's body. She loved pink and dressing up as a mermaid and didn't feel like herself in boys' clothing. This confused her family, until they took her to a doctor who said that Jazz was transgender and that she was born that way. Jazz's story is based on her real-life experience and she tells it in a simple, clear way that will be appreciated by picture book readers, their parents, and teachers.

I am Jazz by Jessica Herthel and Jazz is what all "special issues" books should be. Clear and straightforward yet breezy and fun, this book tells the story of a transgender child. Jazz is a girl caught in a boy's body and she tells her story without preaching. Her friends and family love her but think she should dress as a boy when she's in public. With the help of a good doctor, her parents begin to understand and even her school lets her play on the girls futbol team. The illustrations by Shelagh McNichols are pink and pretty and perfect for this story.
It will be tough on Jazz as she gets older but, for now, she is a healthy and happy little girl.
Reviewed by Elizabeth from Books Inc. Alameda

Current Obsession - Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones


Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones
Expected Publication Date: May 12th, 2015
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224 pages

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they've inherited from a great-uncle. But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky chicken appears and Sophie discovers the hen can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain: jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, the "entire" henhouse....
And then more of her great-uncle's unusual chickens come home to roost. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, earning money for chicken feed, collecting eggs. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe.
Told in letters to Sophie's "abuela, " quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, "Unusual Chickens" is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - booksinckids's blog