booksinckids's blog

Drama by Raina Telgemeier

I don't read many graphic novels but I was drawn to this one because I heard great things about this author and another kids specialist was really moved by this story. I can totally see why. This story was great and I loved that she had gay characters in it. I think any kid could find something from this story they can relate to, I know I did and I'm no longer a kid in age...but always in heart The art was beautiful and I think the story sends a very good message about excepting others which is a very much needed lesson it seems these days. I will definitely be reading more from this author and will try reading some more graphic novels in the future. --Reviewed by Melanie of Books Inc. Berkeley

Los Colores del Camaleon por Chisato Tashiro

Los Colores del Camaleón es una deliciosa historia llena de creatividad y diversión. A través de ella conoceremos a todos los animales de la selva y aprenderemos lo importante que es valorar aquello nos hace únicos. Prepárate a ver leones a rayas de mil colores, cebras azules con puntos verdes, e incluso ¡hipopótamos rosas! ¿Qué estará tramando el camaleón?

Chameleon’s Colors is a delicious story full of creative joy. Through the story you will get to know all of the animals of the jungle and you will realize the value and importance of the things that make us unique. Be prepared to see lions with stripes of a million colors and blue zebras with green polka-dots and even a pink hippo! What is going through the chameleon’s mind?

Reviewed by Yolanda—  Books Inc. Mountain View’s Monthly Spanish storytime visitor

Yolanda reads stories in Spanish the first Sat of every month at 4:30 in MV!

Red Kite, Blue Kite by Ji-Li Jiang

I love the stories that have historical truth to them, and this one falls under that category. Such a sweet and sad story. Brand new to our shelves, I picked it for my book of the week choice and have gotten excellent reviews from my fellow staff members. For a parent looking for a sweet story AND teaching their kids about a significant event in the past, I strongly recommend this story. -- Reviewed by Courtney of Books Inc. Burlingame

Author Interview: Bianca Turetsky!

        1.)    At what age did you fall in love with vintage fashion?

I was always dressing a bit odd compared to my classmates, although there weren’t really any vintage stores in the small CT town I grew up in. I spent a lot of time combing through the racks at the local Salvation Army and Goodwill stores looking for discarded treasures, which ended up being more from Ann Taylor than Anna Sui. I have to admit that ½ the reason I love living in NY is that there are so many great vintage shops to explore!

2.)    Do you bear any resemblance to your main character, Louise Lambert?

Louise definitely reminds me of myself at 12. Like Louise, I grew up an only child, with frizzy hair, braces, and an overactive imagination in a suburban Connecticut town. I was also on a swim team. But Louise has far more exciting adventures than I did!

         3.)    What kind of research did you do for the various historical locations you depict in your series?

Because I tried to be as historically accurate as possible, these books required a lot of research, which ended up being so much fun!  For T-TF At the Palace of Marie Antoinette my grandmother, who immediately volunteered to be my research assistant, and I went on a trip to Paris! We took the train out to the palace of Versailles to see what it is actually like in person. It’s really hard to appreciate the scale and grandeur of the place from photographs- although I hope I was able to capture it in this story. We ate lots of French pastries (for research purposes of course!) and wandered around the grounds and gardens where Marie Antoinette lived hundreds of years ago. My main character is actually named after my grandma, so it was pretty cool to be seeing Versailles for the first time with the original Louise Lambert.

                4.)    If you could choose one era of history to visit, which would it be and why?     

Choosing one is hard, there’s so many I’d love to visit!  The roaring 20s seemed fabulous with the bedazzled Flapper dresses, and t-strap tap shoes.  The Great Gatsby is one of my all time favorite books, so I’ve always been a bit obsessed with that period of Jazz Age glamour. Now that I think of it, this would be a good Time-Traveling Fashionista novel!

 5.)    What does it mean to you to write for a young audience?

Even though I find it really fun, I also take it extremely seriously. So many of the books I read when I was young really affected and changed me and have stuck with me for my whole life.  It’s a huge responsibility that I don’t take lightly. Reading great books by Judy Blume, Louisa May Alcott, and Madeleine L’Engle as a kid created a lifelong reading habit, inspired me to write my own books, and to this day, a free afternoon and a good book is my idea of bliss.

 6.)    If we were to snoop in your closet, what would we find that we may not expect?

When I was in Spain writing the second T-TF book, I went to this amazing vintage store and found a gorgeous long white tiered dress with handmade lace trim that looked like something Dolce and Gabbana made for last spring’s collection. The dress probably dates back to around 1910- just the period I wrote about in The Time-Traveling Fashionista on Board the Titanic. The fabric is so delicate that I’m afraid to wear it out of my apartment, but I love it.

The Apothecary by Maile Meloy

The Apothecary is Meloy's first novel for young readers, and she tells The riveting tale of Janie, a Cold War American girl whose parents are suspected of Communist sympathies. They move to London to avoid the McCarthy trials, where Janie is almost immediately embroiled in a race against time and the forces of world destruction to aid a courageous apothecary and his quick-witted son against nuclear holocaust. This novel is original, fast paced, and perfect for fans of The Golden Compass. --Reviewed by Megan of Books Inc. Market Street
Syndicate content