Blogs

Sweet Pepper Gin

When you first meet Eva in J. Ryan Stradal’s Kitchens of the Great Midwest, you’ll be introduced to her love for all things peppery.

Eva’s cousin, Braque, has gotten used to using the lavender in her campus’ Shakespeare Garden to overpower the pungent smells that waft through college life.

Combining both produces one swell drink, you betcha.

 

Sweet Pepper Gin
2 oz. Dry Gin
.25 oz Yellow Sweet-Pepper Jelly
1-2 Droppers Bitter Tears
Lavender Bitters

Stir all with ice. Strain into an ice-filled glass.  Garnish with sweet pepper and lavender.

 

Highly Anticipating - Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke
Expected Publication Date: August 18th, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Page Count: 400 pages

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror
A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea's April Genevieve Tucholke.
Each story draws from a classic tale or two sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.
Fans of TV's The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:
Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters.

Why We Can't Wait: This is an AMAZING list of authors we love and we can't WAIT to get our hands on this one! Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, Jay Kirstoff, Nova Ren Suma?! YES PLEASE!

Books Inc. Kids Review - Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones
Publication Date: May 12, 2015
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genre: Middle Reader
Ages: 8-12

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.  Told in letters to Sophie s "abuela, " quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, "Unusual Chickens" is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.

When Sophie and her family move from the city to the farm they've inherited, they worry that they aren't cut out for country living. While her parents struggle to make ends meet, Sophie explores the farm -- and begins to find chickens that would give even the most weathered farmer a run for her money. Determined to make the most of her new life, Sophie dives headfirst into the care and keeping of chickens, unusual and otherwise. Half the joy of the book is waiting to see what powers the next chicken will have, and they never disappoint. Kelly Jones has created a coop with abilities as varied as the cast of a Marvel comic book.

Even better, the book's human cast is just as diverse as its superpowered chickens. Numerous skin tones, racial identities, and romantic orientations exist in the world of the book, and it's refreshing to see a children's author recognize the importance of positive representation. Sophie is bold and inquisitive, with a strong sense of responsibility and loyalty. Her family's financial struggle feels real, and helps ground what is often a very silly story. Katie Kath's gorgeous illustrations bring the world and characters to life, and remind me of some of children's literature's all-time greats. It's a beautiful book, and one I can't wait to share with the young readers in my life.

Reviewed by David at Books Inc. in Berkeley

 

Highly Anticipating - After the Red Rain by Barry Lyga

After the Red Rain by Barry Lyga
Expected Publication Date: August 4th, 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 400 pages

Set in a future world of environmental collapse and mass poverty, where a mysterious boy named Rose discovers he possesses inhuman powers that can irrevocably change the lives of everyone on the planet

Why We Can't Wait: Okay. That's a very short description. But we like it. We also like Barry Lyga. And Peter Facinelli (FROM TWILIGHT GUYZ!)

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - blogs