Blogs

From the award-winning star of Channel 4's Lost + The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Titan Books brings you an enchanting and mischievious debut, The Squickerwonkers by Evangeline Lilly.

Books Inc. in The Marina very excitedly welcomes actress and author Evangeline Lilly in celebration of the first volume of this eccentric and visually stunning cautionary tale, The Squickerwonkers! Meet Selma of the Rin-Run Royals, a clever little girl who is spoiled to the core. One day Selma stumbles upon a band of colorful marionettes, and gets more than she bargained for. The remarkable Squickerwonkers of the fabulous Squickershow are about to teach Selma that she'll not always get her way.

Please note: This event is free and open to the public. Priority in the signing line will be given to those with a Books Inc. receipt for The Squickerwonkers.

 

Event date: 
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
2251 Chestnut St
San Francisco, CA

 

Cute and romantic, LaCour writes a story in which two young women find each other through incredible twists of fate and grow closer through their love of movies. As a huge film lover and an advocate for diverse books, I LOVED this novel. While this is a novel that involves a young lesbian romance, it was always about these girls falling in love with each other as people. A lot of LGBT YA is about coming out and, while those books are important, it was refreshing to read a good old love story. I also really enjoyed the behind the scenes insights to movie making that is make up a lot of the book. The passion for set design that Emi, the protagonist, has is very infectious and inspiring.This is quite the lovely read! -- Karen from Books Inc. Terminal 2

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: A sweeping, epic saga of romance and hardship, set against the dramatic backdrop of ancient Mesopotamia--perfect for fans of Cleopatra's Moon or the adult bestseller The Red Tent.

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden's tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden's turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe's leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family's position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden's heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden's heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb's increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden's every move, she knows she must find a way to escape--or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family's survival on the line, Jayden must finish the deadly journey to save the ones she loves--and find true love for herself.

Why we can't wait: Forbidden romance? Mesopotamia? Plus look at that gorgeous cover!! I don't even care that a love triangle seems to be involved, because seriously it'll probably be freakin fantastic. Our love for Cleopatra's Moon is also something that's piqued my interest!! Yes, I want this and I want it now! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: It had to end sometime, but Mara had no idea it would end like this. Experience the mind-blowing conclusion to the "New York Times "bestselling Mara Dyer trilogy.
Mara Dyer wants to believe there's more to the lies she's been told.
There is.
She doesn't stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.
She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.
Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer's story.
Retribution has arrived.

Why we can't wait: I mean, it's the final installment in the Mara Dyer trilogy, of COURSE we're excited!!! Aren't you?! What's going to happen?! Who IS Mara Dyer?! Hopefully all our questions will be answered. I may end up curled up in a ball crying for a week, but hey, it'll be totally worth it, right? -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Karn is destined to take over his family’s farm in Norrongard, but he has absolutely no desire to do so. He would much rather play game after game of Thrones and Bones. Thianna is a half giantess, half human who is constantly trying to prove herself amongst her fellow Frost Giants. When dangerous and ancient creatures threaten their families, Thianna and Karn must flee their homes in hopes of finding out the truth and saving everyone they love.  Frostborn is a magical and exhilarating story that’s perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Fablehaven. I can even see it going as far as being a Game of Thrones for young readers. Dragons, wyverns, after walkers, and giants all play a part in this story making it exciting and magical. Anders’ use of Viking mythology also plays a subtle roll in Karn’s history and the legends of Norrongard, which always has me wanting more. We need more Viking stories! I loved it, and it’s definitely worth picking up! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

UnDivided by Neal Shusterman (Unwind #4)
Publication Date: October 14th, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Page Count: 372 pages

What we think: UnDivided is the newest and final installment in the Unwind trilogy and it's just as phenomenal as the others! UnDivided kicks off with a bang and starts right where the last book left off. Shusterman does a fabulous job of keeping readers up to speed without being overly redundant, making it easier for those of us who read UnSouled when it came out to remember the full story. I have to admit, I'm only reading a few pages at a time because, alas, this is the last book in the series and I just don't want it to end!!! Shusterman, why must you play with my heart this way?! If you haven't already picked up Unwind, I highly recommend it. The series is fast-paced, exciting, beautifully written, and thought-provoking. The haunting images Shusterman paints will stay with you for a long time. So far, UnDivided is fulfilling the fangirl in me! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

What if there were a hormone in beef that decimated the majority of women in the United States? Catherine Linka presents a horrifically realistic future where women are a commodity and their individual rights are nonexistent. Under this Paternalist Movement, all Avie wants to do is go to college. However, Avie’s dream ends when her father sells her for $50 million to a businessman twice her age.  Now she faces a terrible choice, torn between saving her father’s company--by going through with the marriage--or leaving everything she’s ever known and fleeing to Canada.  Page turning and suspenseful, Linka really knows how to up the stakes with star-crossed love, secrets and potential revolution. What really shines though is watching Avie’s evolution from sheltered teenager to a bold heroine. Great for book clubs, there’s plenty to discuss. -- Connie from Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father's killer through multiple dimensions. Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes--and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite's father is murdered, and the killer--her parent's handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul--escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows--including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul's guilt--as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father's death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You, the first book in the Firebird trilogy, explores an amazingly intricate multiverse where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

Why we can't wait: Intrigue, science fiction, action, adventure, romance, this book has it all! We're obsessed with Claudia Gray and her newest novel is bound to be just as spectacular as the rest. She's definitely dipping her toes into the water of a new genre and we can't wait to see what she's come up with. A Thousand Pieces of You is a MUST for this holiday season! -- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

 

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

What it's about: "730. That's how many days I've been trapped.""18. That's how many days I have left to find a way out."
DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible....
JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister....
MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She's about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window.....
In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.

Why we can't wait: Escape from a maze-like city before your life is forfeit? A girl who lives in a brothel? Three different points of view that all come together. Hopefully these kids make it out alive. This is a perfect thriller for those of us who enjoyed The Maze Runner. Over at Books Inc. we're obsessed with new and refreshing ideas and The Wall meets all those requiremenents!
-- Anna from Books Inc. Palo Alto

Pages